The Thai Islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 9th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The route went Ko Samui, Ko Pha Ngan, Ko Samui, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi, Phuket, Ko Tao, which was a bit up and down but we had a tight schedule between 8th - 27th of Dec and had things booked in. Starting in Ko Samui was cool, we were expecting to have a bit of a detox, we aimed for one wk it lasted 4 days, not bad. Ko Samui on a nice day is lovely, we stayed on Chaweng Beach and you could walk out 3 metres and the water would be up to your waiste, then after another 5 metres back down by your ankles. The water was crystal clear. This island had lots and lots of western shops and restaurants, incl Macdonalds, KFC, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Haagan Daaz and even a sensens (or something like that) which did the best Snickers Ice Cream. Obviously I stuck to my beloved Panang curries and other local food, it tastes better I'd say.

We stayed a couple of nights in Ko Samui in an apartment building which we heard was haunted, glad I found out after the two nights! We then hit Ko Pha Ngan where we stayed in a place I can only desribe as a shed. The warm up parties made up for it though, we spent our first two nights in Coral Bungalows where they had a quality pool party which was packed to the rafters. The 6 of us had such a good night, we went back the following night then headed to Haad Rin beach for a dance. It was pouring down half way through our dance session which lots of people ran for shelter during, not us...when the song 'I work out' by LMFAO comes on, you just dance you dont run. The next day (FULL MOON) we took some time getting kitted up. Brian and I decided that we would go in just a tu tu, with body paint. His chest said, 'Kiss me, I'm Irish' mine said 'Kiss me, he's Irish'....didnt really work. l spent all night getting high fives from passers by, the atmosphere at was electric. Party started at Boss tattoo bar, where we were for around 3 hours and then headed to the beach for the remainder of the eve, we eventually made it home around 7am.

The next day we went to Haad Rin beach and noticed they were having some sort of football tournament going on so before that started we got a group of us and played against some beefed up americans, obviously we won quite convincingly...at one stage I think they may have been confused with the 'football' we were playing as one of them just randomly caught the ball...strange. I scored a Matt Le'tissier type lob which the crowd enjoyed, my celebration of diving into the sea maybe a little over the top?!

After KPN we headed through Sarat Thani into Krabi which at the time was pretty late and we didnt stay at very long, leaving the next day as the weather was supposed to be shocking. We did spend the night in a restaurant / bar which had the best live band I have ever heard. Their opening song was Wonderful tonight by Eric Clapton....WHAT A SONG and the guitaring was AWESOME!! He made it look so easy, all of us were just jaw dropped!

The next day we headed to Phi Phi which was my favourite Island. It has spectacular beaches, all types of entertainment. This Island got hit so badly when the Tsunami hit in 2004, there are now lots of signs pointing to safe points on top of hills, its crazy to think I was standing where people had lost their lives to a huge wave...scary. We took a day trip to Maya Beach, which is the beach from the film...'The Beach'. Also just finished the book, a lot better than the film I might add! The area we stayed on has a 100 metre walk way between the dock and another beach, the pictures of this 'strip' between two waterfronts are so cool, looks like paradise, which it was. In Phi Phi there were loads of bars, one that caught our eye was the one with the boxing ring inside. Everynight tourists would get in and fight, men and women. It was entertainment and they must have made a packet as this place was heaving each night. If you get in, you get one free bucket those were basically the only rules.

We stayed in a place we thought was nice but turned out to be a nightmare. The staff broke through my padlock and stole my £100 watch and mobile phone. Also took my credit card details and opened a Christmas card from my niece who was 1 on Christmas day. Police did nothing, and the staff did even less all suddenly couldn't understand what I was saying...d1ckheads. I am going to write a seperate blog on this about the hotel, so when people type the name into google they will see how dodgy it was and hopefully they will go out of business.

After Phi Phi, we headed to Phuket which we hadn't hearda good thing about from any other travellers.... We loved it and had one of our best nights out here which obv included a PPS at the end of the night, for free (if you know what I mean guys!) If you can see through all the slap, bar workers, lady boysld men walking around with thai girls its actually a pretty decent place. The beach is long and water clear, lots of choice for food and drink. Our accomodation was spot on, the receptionist was a top lady or bloke or whatever it was. We went into a stadium to watch some Thai Boxing, where one of my friends 1st cousins was fighting a local. He did well and won the first 2 of 5 rounds but then tired and ended up losing the fight. They were all cool lads, especially some american dude who was a ripped black bloke with dreds who was a great fighter. He beat a tuc tuc driver by nearly kicking his face off, the person he was supposed to be fighting pulled out so thats what they do, fill the slot with someone who used to fihgt...this one happened to be a fat tuc tuc driver haha. He was like 'man, I dont wanna train tomo, I just wanna go out, get high and not give a sh1t'... kept calling me Corry, I wasnt about to tell him he was wrong I just answered to that name.

Ko Tao was the last place we went and we arrived just before Christmas. Ko Tao is a diving island, you come here, you dive. Well I didnt, I just Thai Boxed which was hard work in 30 plus degree heat! The beach we were on was nice, but weather was a little merkey so couldn't see much in the sea. In the evenings they had beach parties, which were pretty good. We met up with some friends from Halong Bay and ended up on a couple of mad nights out. First night it was Caberet where we (the boys) got up and dance with 12 lady boys, such a laugh the lads look quality in their wigs, I had police ladies hat and bra. I tried a spot of breakdancing, awful idea...the next night we headed to the beach party which I dont remember a lot about but what I do remmber was it was fricking amazing!! Some good pics on FB. The next day we met up with our canadian friends, who are two female twins and their friend Mark..? I think? I headed to the beach with them, chilled out and then went out for some food. Christmas day I got an amazing massage, pity it was from a bloke but every cloud...my back got cracked, proper cracked. I think people on the beach prob heard it!

Its weird, it never felt like Christmas. Without the music, the shopping, the chats etc it never hit home. Maybe up until Christmas day itself when I spoke with my family over Skype, emotional times then it hit home. Lydia was 1 and looked so cute in her little red santa outfit. I had my new favourite Christmas dinner, a chicken Panang and had a few drinks that eve. On the 27th we headed back to Phuket where we took a flight out of Thailand for good, will I ever be back....?! For 100 reasons yes, but full moon is at number 1

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb