Power cuts and scary bike rides


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 14th 2009
Published: December 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday was fun. Alex came and picked me up in the limo (read, battered old jeep) and took me to Tescos where I stocked up on provisions like soap and bleach. Then went into Lins for a while and then wandered over to Chequered Flag across the road. I went back to Lins for some food then Alex took me home. It was only in the car home he told me he’d had 5 sambucas while I was away. His driving was appalling and he blamed the gearbox for everything. I managed to get back to coco garden in one piece and went to the bar to celebrate. After a few hours Alex called me and said he was at the bar in Cocos. I walked down and he was with Tim and Marco. Gerard turned up next and after a while we decided to go to Meow bar for karaoke. I said I would only go on Gerards bike because he is the only one I trust. I was dead right cos Alex got on his bike and immediately fell off. Of course, it was the bikes fault. That was seriously some of the funniest shit I’ve ever seen. Earlier in the bar he was singing Queen and I reckon that if Freddie Mercury had lived, him and Alex would be like twin brothers today. Either that or Alf Garnett with hair.

We made it to Meows in one piece but sadly they only have Thai Karaoke. Some songs have English phonetic translations but even I’m not going to attempt that. Although Marco was up for giving it a go but i don’t think they’d let him. We watched this guy making the best pasta on the bar whilst the 2 cutest puppies in the world frolicked about behind. We then went to a girlie bar next door while Alex shouted at his bike and blamed it for being an old banger because he couldn’t work it. Eventually he got it going and went back to Lins for dinner. Gerard stayed for a drink more then it was just me and Marco and the Thai girls. When Marco fell asleep on the table I knew it was probably time to go. He woke up enough to say goodbye and then wandered off to play the worst pool I’ve ever seen. I got back to Cocos and Adey and Chris were at the bar. I made them play my iPod for a while until we had to go back to Adey’s music. I have no idea what time I returned home. Fuck, considering Saturday was a quiet one, I’ve managed to write a hell of a lot. Wait until you hear about Sunday!

Sunday morning I decided I was going to sort my shit out. Fed up with having to rely on people for lifts and stuff so I was going to get a bike. Went to bar and had breakfast and sorted out my bar bill. Was 2,300 bht which is about 40quid. Not bad for a couple of really messy days. Eating my breakfast and Alex turns up and we go off to Lins. I’ve spotted the bike I want and I’m eyeing him up. Lin and Alex are badgering me to give it a go but i’m bricking it. Even though it’s Sunday, it seems like the road is extra busy. I have 2 coffees and then think fuck it. Get on the bike, drive about 10 yards down the road and then go straight back. It doesn’t help that Alex is taking pictures and running across the road to tell everyone in Chequered Flag whats going on. By the time I get off I’m shaking like a leaf.

I go over to CF and have a Chang and Jack Daniels to calm my nerves. 7 Changs and 11 Jack Daniels later I decide to go home. Lin wanted to take me but there was no way I could get on the back of a bike. So Tim managed to sort me out a lift from someone else with a car. Had some mad notion when I got back to sit on the porch and read, threw myself down into the chair which slid back and went through the window. At this point I realised I should probably go to bed and keep out of trouble. Had a few hours kip and felt much better. When I woke up I went to go to the restaurant but it was closed, it was the Staff Christmas party and I was supposed to be there. I had no idea where they were so decided I should just walk into town and get some food. So I took a walk into town, Lins place looked closed and I was going to walk down to the other coffee shop but decided to go to the restaurant across the road. Was just having a look at the menu and Lin came over. She’d seen me passing. I ordered some food and was halfway through it when all the lights went out.

The whole place was plunged into darkness they brought out a battery operated lamp and we sat chatting for a while. Marco and Tim pulled up and came and joined us for a drink. Tim had been planning on watching the Liverpool Arsenal match and was going to open up the bar. The lights flickered on and off a few times but it didn’t seem to last. Every time they came on there was a cheer from the surrounding buildings. Personally I thought it was brilliant but then I don’t run a business and wasn’t losing money. The power came back at just before 11 and Tim ran in to turn the tv on just in time for the start of the match. We managed about 25 mins and then darkness again. So we were sitting in Chequered Flag in the dark and just as my eyes are adjusting this bat swoops in over my head. I made the guys go and look for it but they couldn’t find it. Tim decided he might as well go to bed so we all said goodnight and I went home.

Typically there wasn’t a taxi to be found even though hundreds of them had passed me on my way in. Eventually once I’d walked through Chinatown i got one. The thing that worries me most about walking home is the dogs. I haven’t come across an aggressive one yet and usually if you just ignore them they go away, but still, I don’t want to get bitten. Plus theres a buffalo that lives in the river and that gives me the fear as well. His horns look sharp, I don’t want to get impaled or jagged up the arse with one of those.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0828s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb