Back to the Island


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 12th 2009
Published: December 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After the longest night ever, the sun rose over the car park that we were sitting in. Ollie woke up and it was time to get on the boat again. I hadn’t slept all night, I was either listening to my ipod or playing card games on my laptop. It was futile trying to play real cards as they kept blowing away. Eventually it was time to get onto the ferry. I was worried I was going to be sick as it was a really small boat so Ollie gave me a travel sickness pill. Of course, taking this, immediately made me sick, before I’d even gotten on the boat. He did warn me it might make me drowsy, so I assume that I didn’t puke it up because I was asleep before the boat even left the port. I was asleep even before the incredible sleeping man and I must have been annoying him because he woke me up to get past so he could sleep on another bench. I stretched myself out over the plastic seats and had the most deep sleep of my life.

Woke up when we were at Koh Tao. It looks like such a beautiful island, much much smaller than Koh Pha-Ngan. Loads of people got off, but then quite a few got on as well. I really wanted to stay awake and capture the moment but was asleep again before we’d even left. I woke up as we neared Koh Mah island and immediately recognised it. Was beginning to worry that Alex wouldn’t be around or that Lin wouldn’t remember me. Paranoid shit. We pulled into the smaller pier and because we came from a different direction, North, I had to take a minute to get my bearings.

Ollie was meeting a friend too, so we decided he would come to Thai Coffee with me and ring his friend from there. I marched round there expecting the worst, but I was so wrong. Outside was the familiar blue jeep so I knew I was in the right place, even though new buildings had sprung up and I didn’t 100% recognise it. But inside, Alex in his usual spot and Lin. Neither were expecting me so I took them by surprise. Fantastic.

We had a beer and Alex called Gerard to say i was here. Gerard immediately got on the case of tracking me down some accommodation. He rang me back to say his friend has bungalows just further down the Ban Taii road from where i was before and had one available for a week. As it’s coming up to Christmas everywhere starting to get busy but this gives me a chance of settling in first and then finding a house to stay in. So I accepted the bungalow and Gerard said he’d come pick me up.

Ollie’s friend came and met him and he left, he was originally going to Ban Taii but decided to go see some other friends. He didn’t know his Thai number so we weren’t able to exchange numbers but hopefully we’ll bump into each other again before he goes.

Gerard turned up and we had a couple more beers. Alex borrowed the jeep and we headed off to Coco Beach bungalows. The bungalow is lovely, two beds, air con and hot shower. The guys headed off to the bar and I started unpacking. The bar is on the beach, built on a platform. The beach isn’t the nicest one I’ve seen but it’s still lovely. And the best thing is the wind. It’s really breezy so you don’t get too hot. You can see Koh Samui over the water and can see right down the island to Haad Rin. So true to form, Alex, Gerard and I got right on the lash. Few beers and a couple of Jagermeisters later I was worn out, bearing in mind I had only slept for an hour or two on the boat I couldn’t keep my eyes open. So the guys were meant to go back to Gerards whilst I caught a few hours sleep.

Back in my room I was just about to fall into bed when I pulled the top sheet off. Good job as there was a little gecko in the bed. Now anyone who knows me knows that I’m terrified of things like that and would normally have run screaming from the room, but I was so knackered I just shooed it away and got in beside it.

Couple of hours sleep later I walked down to the restaurant and ordered some food. Adey came over and introduced himself, he’s Gerards friend and runs the bungalows along with Lee. Once I’d eaten I went over and joined him at the bar where there was a couple of other people sitting round. Lin had given me a phone during the day but i’d forgotten it, so rang Alex and asked him to bring it down. He was playing cards and said he’d be down later. Gerard turned up after with the phone, but said Alex was too drunk and still gambling so he was going to stay at Thai Coffee for the night.

Gerard, Adey, Lucy and I all sat around drinking till about 12, when I had to go to bed. Unfortunately Lucy was leaving early this morning so I won’t see her again, shame cos she was a right laugh. Had a brilliant first day anyway, am so glad to be back. Everyone is just the same and I’m very chilled out. Can’t imagine I’ll have a lot to update over the next few weeks, but we’ll see. I’m laying off the jagermeisters as they just knock me out. Sticking with the Sam


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb