Full Moon Party


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 14th 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Base CampBase CampBase Camp

Our Base camp next to the river with the floating restaurants
Hey you all,

well I'm Thailand! It took me 28 hr to come here and that gave me time to change my mind....so I'm not in Bankok but in Ko Pha Ngan, an island on the east-coast of Thailand next to Ko Samui, world-famous for the Full-moon party. On top of that I met a dutch couple in Cherating who told me that there is a kite-surf scool as well....so changed my mind and will stay her a week probably. Tonight is the full-moon party so thousands of people come over, also from other islands to party whole night on the beach. I met Dyllon here again, a Canadian who I met in Kuala Lumpur and joined to Tamana Negara. We went out together to a "pre-full moon" (there is also a half-moon and a black moon party....every reason is good to have a party....) and must say it's the Ibiza of Asia, even better!

So after I arrived here it was impossible to find accomodation....so had to go into a hotel for 2 nights. Then by coincidence I found a "bob-marley stylish" wooden chalet, 5m away from the Ocean, in front of me a beach-bar with flags of
Tamana Negara: upstream with boatTamana Negara: upstream with boatTamana Negara: upstream with boat

2.5hr boat to start our Jungle hike
Bob himself and the Doors (just to give you an idea) all this for only 5Euro/night! So I will stay there for ...? nights. Yesterday I took my first Kite-surf lesson. Of course first theory and safety. Then we had to quit due to rain and no wind. The course should last 4days (12h), however current whether conditions are not good and therefore it might be that I have to stay a bit longer. I'll C, in case the whether doesn't change I will have to continue the lessons in Australia or Belgium.

I tend to stay longer on one location than planned, however don't like to go every 2-3 days to another spot as it's not a relaxing way of traveling, what I don't C, I don't miss..... I rented a motor-bike here which gives me all freedom to explore the island. Yesterday evening it was raining like hell so saw a great movie( Moterbike Diaries), then to bed as today will be a long day. Will think about all of you tonight. First BBQ in a resort were Dyllon stays with Swimming pool and loads of party people, afterwards Full Moon party. Tomorrow no Kite-surf lesson... I will be in recovery mode😊


Below some pictures of my hike in Tamana Negara and a picture I took yesterday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

current locationcurrent location
current location

rain....beach....kite


14th February 2006

Dag Tim
Wel Tim, die Full Moon Party, daar maak je me toch wat jaloers mee ... Groot gelijk om de tijd te nemen om rond te reizen ! Groetjes en tot mails, Iris
14th February 2006

geen kite surfen in de regen? MIETJES!
;) Kom aaaaaaan, kite surfen is toch op zee en dan word je toch ook nat? Leuke fotookes. Verder niets te melden eigenlijk. Kus Wille
14th February 2006

Rambo IV
Sly is niks tegen u joeng. Nog veel reisgenot terwijl wij hier de corporate wereld staande houden :)
16th February 2006

Rambo?
Lijkt me eerder dat je iets in je broek gedaan hebt, anyway, mooie fotokes Tim, vooral de natuur moet indrukwekkend zijn denk ik. Feest maar goe, ik ga nu mijne frit met alles erop en eraan opeten, groetjes he, mmmmm
21st February 2006

Naslagwerk
Aaaaargh, ik word zot als ik dees lees en zie ... binnenkort zou 'k nog een last minute ticket durven boeken om af te komen, want da grijs land hier, amai. Chance dat er nog de vele afterwork partiekes zijn hier om den boel op te fleuren ;o) Anyways, op aanraden van ons Cieke ben ik vandaag gestart met de afdruk van al uw verslagskes - in kleur nog wel. En zo heb jij een mooi naslagwerkje op papier als je terug bent. Rambo Tim is ne stoere, is em ook zo stoer oep de kite? Ciao

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb