Tim left the Jungle


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Taman Negara National Park
February 10th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

well a fast update on the situation here, after 3 weeks I'm still in Malaysia. After my short visit to Penang which I didn't like (didn't give it time either as I knew I had to go back to KL to meet Amanda and Chris (Swedish Dude) to go to Tamana Negara) I traveled to KL were I also met Dylan, another Canadian, who wanted to join us to Tamana Negara. Better to be with 4 as if you want to do a 4 day hike, you need a guide so cheaper if you go with 4....anyway, 2 days later arrived in TN and had a hostel with view on the river, a hamac etc... we took first a chill day were we sorted out all the permits, tents, food etc. The 4 days of hiking were great. After 30 min I already looked like someone who jumped into a river.... sweat like hell but I noticed that my condition is very good, the mountain-bike trip in Kenya helped me. After a 4h hike trough the jungle we arrived in a cave were we spend the first night.....with rats. One even jumped in my plate after I putted it down on the floor.
The day after a nother 8k hike and spend the night in a house....full of rats. Garry a man from Manchester who we met when we arrived in TN, managed to kill one @3AM. The man looks a bit like Ozzy Osbourne and talks a bit like him as well "The f***** brains are all over the f***** floor" was the one-liner of the trip. Anyway, the next days we did sleep comfortable without rats, after a very tough 12k hike to the base station. A coke never tasted as good as when we arrived that day! Day after we took a boat upstream and did a nother 8 k hike. After a well deserved chill day I decided to check out Cherating on the east-coast, know for wind-surfing. Arrived here 2 days ago, however neiter the whether is good nor the surf-conditions. (it's raining) So tonight I take a bus to the west-coast were I will take a train upto Bankok. (need to go via the west-coast as in South -east Thailand there are some rebels (Islamitic people who feels rejected by the Thai government and the cartoons were NOK for them either.....well a lot of simple people in the world .... so I will avoid them and go via the east-coast.) Time to leave Malaysia!
btw no pictures here, to expensive internet so will publish some pictures once I'm in Bankok.

Advertisement



10th February 2006

Good to hear you are alive and sleeping Tim. You are not missing anything here including the rain. I am off to snowy Kiev on Sunday. Skiing cannot come quickly enough. oh man!!! Just drunk a half bottle of wine and about to pass out so will say good night now. Take care and enjoy and be safe. X
15th February 2006

Hey Tim, ik lees dat alles ok is en zou graag in je plaats zijn ;-)Zou graag een muisje (en geen rat !!!) willen zijn, om vanuit je rugzak mee te kunnen genieten van die prachtige landschappen... Ik volg je verhaal vol spanning af ... See you later , alligator ;-))Kusjes

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb