Time to make a move somewhere?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 19th 2008
Published: January 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update, after Luke and Mark made their way back to Bangkok I spent a day climbing up some great waterfalls and did some zip lining. I will have to get the shots off the camera later, they say more than words! There is some great scenery around here. There was also the mummified monk nearby which I have some creepy shots of as I walked into the room alone toward closing time.

That evening I got chatting to a couple of lads from Melbourne in a side street restaurant. Joe and Demo - 2 great lads just a little older who I went out with that night and the next night and who I partied with in Koh Phangan where I am at the mo. They have just jettet back off to Oz though after a quick break but we really got on so I just gotta be seeing those 2 again now in Melbourne. Anyway I spent far too long in Koh Samui and the last night I was actually really sick, food poisoning or something. I was due to get the same boat as Joe and Demo to Koh Phangan but I had no sleep being sick so had to get the latter one and just so happened to find those 2 again in a bar as soon as I landed. I have had my mobile lost/stolen which has not helped things but there we go. Koh Samui is more chilled than Phuket and Koh Phangan more chilled still. It is lovely here. However I have just 5 days left on my 30 day tourist visa now! Option A is to do the visa run where for 1800 baht you can be taken by boats/buses west across the border to Ranong and turn around and come back into Thailand with a fresh 30 days and laze about and move up north. Or I am strongly considering just going straight to Cambodia now to see Angkor Wat.

Maybe I have had enough of Thailand and it is time to move on? I could spend ages seeing all the different areas but on one travellers blog he could have missed thailand off his world tour. A matter of opinion perhaps and what one is after. There are things I haven't seen up north but I have seen a lot and Angkor Wat is gonna be the
Demo and JoeDemo and JoeDemo and Joe

Demo (short from Demetrius, Australian/Brazilian) on my right shoulder and Joe on my left (Australian/Egyptian)
big one as some have said it is more impressive than the Pyramids in Egypt. Also you know you can pay 300 dollars to blow up a cow with a rocket launcher in Cambodia, 200 for the RPG and 100 for the cow! I'm not gonna though. I'll have to get some US dollars sorted for Cambodia. Anyway the internet cafes on this island charge 3 times the price per minute so I have got to get back to planning what the heck I'm doing with myself. A bit of a loose end at the mo.

Don't be under the impression travelling is all 24/7 fun, fun, fun you know. It is providing a challenge in a number of ways, especially alone now. My current room has aircon but otherwise it is hot, bloody insect bites plus this is the longest I have been away from home so and am missing my Mum's Sunday Roast among other comforts! But if it's a challenge it's normally worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Raggae boys in SamuiRaggae boys in Samui
Raggae boys in Samui

Raggae boys in Samui


23rd January 2008

GET MOVING!
Alright mate, sounds like you are having a good time, I'm glad to hear it. If you were to ask my advice on what to do next... I would say go do Angkor! The whole area is stunning. Make sure you see Angkor Wat last as there are so many stunnnig temples but if you see Angkor Wat first then the rest pale into insignifigance. So do all the older and smaller ones (bicycle for the personal touch and you getter a better 'approach view') first then finish with Angkor Wat, a 3 day pass should suffice. You'll have 30 days in Cambodia so I'd also recommend Battambang, Bokor Hill Station and Phonm Penh. Then get yourself round Viertnam (the whole of the E coast is gorgeous) Laos (4000 islands in the S) before heading back into Thailand whre you can do whatever you've missed, Chaing Mai And Pi in the N as well as Kao Tao (though you may have been there by now) would be my favourite places you haven't been to yet. Take it easy mate and keep moving... JR

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb