Happy Birthday!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
December 5th 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Long Live the King! Today Thailand is celebrating the kings 60th year as the King of Thailand. I've never seen a people who revere their king as much as the Thai people. Every single Thai person loves the guy. So, while I'm on Koh Pha Ngan, and the tourists far outweigh the Thai people, you still see each Thai person in the area wearing yellow shirts in respect for the king. Before I left Bangkok, the streets were getting a total overhaul; there were lights being strung everywhere, stalls were popping up in the park. It would be so insane to be in Bangkok today, but, to be completely honest, I don't really know how the Thai's celebrate the Kings Birthday. I'd assume wear a yellow shirt and maybe go to a temple. I'm thinking I'll pay my respects by drinking a bucket, maybe making a sand castle, and living like a King for a day.

So Sarah and myself are splitting a Bungalow. We may have the best price on the entire island and we're only a minute from the beach. We've been meeting so many people each night, the majority have been from Canada. Each morning I've started my day off with a swim in the ocean. The water is so warm, and the sand is like powder. Like i said in my last blog, my tan's coming along nicely and I've managed not to get a sun burn yet. The food down here so far has been far below par, and i've been reduced to eating shnitzel sanwhiches. Not impressed.

Like I said earlier, there are so many tourists here. Not even your typical backpacker types, instead many a party go'er. I'm having a good time, partying and enjoying the nice beach, but I think that I'll enjoy the seclusion and thai'ful ness of some of the other islands and beaches nearby. One of these days I'm gonna do some exploring of this island and after the full moon party I intend on moving to a different area away from Had Rin (where we are staying right now.)

Tonight is apparently the true full moon, but since it's the king's b-day, they're moving the party to tommorow night. Oh, speaking of moons, the other day on the bus I happened to look out the window at the moon. Now, when you think of a half-moon, you might envision something like **** D ****, yeah, like that, like a D, but no, I see this half moon, and it's on it's side, like the night time is smiling down on me. Thought it was a bloggable experience.

Right, so tommorow is the party. Tonight, who knows, but it'll be good fun for sure. At the moment I'm not feeling so swell, but I think a Strawberry shake might be the cure (My shake count in thailand may be upwards of 60.) But, before I have that, I think I'm gonna start my day of Royalty of right, I'm gonna take a trip to the throne.

Take Care.

(Oh, and I don't recall if I did a blog about the amusement park in Bangkok. I'm too lazy to go check, if not, I'll at least mention this detail for now. I was in 30 degree weather, I stepped inside a building, and for a half hour, I threw snow balls, toboggined and enjoyed the freezing, lovely, snow. Oh Thailand.)




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Waiting in line at Dream WorldWaiting in line at Dream World
Waiting in line at Dream World

Don't think I actually went on the ride.


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb