Koh Haa - Five islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
February 26th 2013
Published: February 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'd packed all my gear the night before so I'd set the alarm for 07:15 giving me enough time to get ready and then walk along the beach to the jetty where our boat was moored.

We were soon joined by the other divers, the dive guides and the crew. It was an hour to the dive site so we settled in with chocolate croissans, bananas and hot coffee - this is the life.

Because of the unseasonal weather we all stayed inside as the rain kept sweeping in at regular intervals. Not that I minded because as soon as we were under the water it didn't really matter.

As soon as we arrived we were ready to go. Rmembering to take the camera and put the mask on (!) in I went. We descended without a problem apart from the fact that my dive computer decided to pack up there and then (apparentlly the battery had given up the ghost without any prior warning - very annoying)

It meant that I had to rely on the guide a lot more but as it was my first dive in 8 months that wasn't a bad thing. The dive lasted over 50 minutes and despite the poor light, due to there being no sunshine, I got some decent photos. The one of the suid was particulary pleasing and once I get it home to 'photoshop it' it should come up OK.

We surfaced and then made our way onto the top deck where lunch was served the ususal Thai curries and rice but very welcome on a day like this.

The boat then moved to the next dive site and in we wen t again. The site included a cave which we went into. Once in we could surface again and only then did you realise why it was called the Cathedral. Very dramatic and slightly surreal bobbing on the surface with no mask or regulator!

It proved o be another good dive with some good pictures of Moray eels and lots of other fish yet to be identified.

With the diving over we made our way back to the resort. Tonight it's the seafood restaurant and after all that exercise I'm very hungry!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb