Ko Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
April 24th 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I moved from Phuket cause it seams a bit hectic and busy. I found a cool place. It's an island called Ko Lanta. I am staying right on the beach in a bamboo bungalow with a fan ( No A/C ), no TV and no hot water - not like any of that is really needed- all for $10 per night. Plus there is fantastic snorkeling right off the beach. It has a nice chill bar. The whole place is a garden, everything is built of bamboo or drift wood. Really cool.
Got here last night after a 5 hour minivan ride that included 2 ferries. Went diving to Ka Haa today. It was really nice. We saw like 5 giant morrey eels, lion fish, scorpion fish, octopus, sea slugs, lobster and assortment of fish. Dove into an underwater cave with an air pocket! Amazing stuff. Got so excited - I ran almost ran out of air 😊
After I got back, I had a beer, snorkeled, had another beer and watched lizards chase mosquitos. Having another beer right now and thinking of where to have dinner. I have all of 5 choices within walking distance and all of them are deserted. I love it!
As usual, pics are coming later. I am getting a bit lazy, I know...
Ok, posted the pictures. Second day I went diving to Ko Phi Phi Island. That's where the movie The Beach was filmed. Diving was first class. I was orogonally planning on visiting the island, but I hear it's so packed with tourist I will skip it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



26th April 2010

WOW
What else can I say "wow" I hope you realize how lucky you are. I waiting for the right pic to make my wallpaper. Have fun
26th April 2010

ko phi phi
When I was diving in Thailand, our boat approached the island but we voted not to moor because it was so busy with tourists. I didn't know that "The Beach" was such a popular movie!
1st May 2010

Actually, diving off Ko Phi Phi was not that crowded - it might have to do with the volcano irrupting in Iceland and disrupting air travel in Europe and the riots going on in Bangkok. Richy, as far4 as being lucky - I thank my lucky stars I have this opportunity - and still can't believe it is happening to me :)

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb