Anyone for Thai food?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
April 10th 2007
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post



You can't spend this long in Thailand, eating mainly thai food and not wonder what goes in it. As we are staying in Ko Lanta for a while we had loads of time to find out. Luckily Lanta Thai Cooking School is very close to our bungalow so we booked an afternoon course. Sharon enjoys cooking but my skills only extend to baked beans and spag bol so I wasn't too keen on making a fool of myself. To my relief we were the only ones on the course which surprised me as it was always busy when we walked passed. Once we selected our 5 dishes to cook we put on our aprons and moved to our stations. We were given a very very sharp knife and we learn't about and chopped various ingredients. At this point I could make the story dramatic by saying I sliced a finger off but sorry I survived with all digits attached. The most dramatic thing to happen was I had some bloody hot chillies but hey, I'm a wimp when it comes to spicey food.



For the next 5 hours we cooked and ate some lovely dishes, Phad Thai, Coconut Milk Soup with Chicken, Beef Salad Thai Style, Stir fried Seafood with Sweet and Sour Sauce and Massaman Curry with Beef. We left feeling vey fat with our recipe books and doggy bags having had a wonderful and knowledgable time. So if anyone fancies some thai food?................ I know of some great restaurants we can go to! :-)




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb