Is The World Still Out There ?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
September 10th 2009
Published: September 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Secluded as I am here on Koh Lanta, it would be very easy to believe the world doesn't exist beyond this small bay. Life crawls along at snails pace, and as there isn't a lot of people around, noise and activity is at a minimum. Everything seems to take "10 minutes", which is really code for 30 minutes. It doesn't seem to matter what it is... a drink, food, new towels, someone to put up the pool umbrella, the answer is always the same, "10 minutes mam", and then it takes 30 minutes!!

Most people here seem to be honey mooners from Europe & the UK, so they tend to stick to themselves somewhat!! I did have a very nice English couple in the room next door for a couple of days, and they were good value.... despite me having to take their crowing about the Ashes!!! (Steve Smith if you are reading this, I can only imagine how obnoxious you have been !!)

However, fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you see it), I can pick up BBC World News on the TV, so am an expect on current world events. The other TV channels are a bit limited, with a cartoon channel, a couple of Thai channels, and a movie channel with 4th rate movies. I was reduced to watching a film with Paris Hilton the other day.... now that's sad!!

The weather until yesterday afternoon has been really good (i.e. sunshine), and we even had blue sky and blue water, which further lulled you into the belief you were in a tropical paradise. But it has now taken a turn for the worse and has been raining constantly since about 4pm yesterday. It's not cold, and even not windy, but just persistant rain. Hence why I'm filling in some time on the Internet.

The one negative about this place is they have killer ants..... they are only tiny little black numbers, but boy do they back a punch when they bite. Forget mosquitos, they are nothing compared to the ants. Fortunately I have some magic cream that seems to fix just about everything, and it makes the bites go away in a few hours... or at least takes the sting away.

I have one more day of this laziness and then fly back to Bangkok on Saturday, where I meet up with Anne & Janet on Sunday morning, before flying to Kathmandu and onto Bhutan. I have read my Bhutan guide book from cover to cover, and so am now also an expect on the country. However I have realised we are going to be doing a lot of "treking". I hope this means walking, and not actual treking, but whatever, I think I will be jogged out of my current comotised state pretty quickly.

Well I think that's about enough rambling from me, you will begin to think I have some sort of tropical fevor if I don't stop now. Will be in touch from Kathmandu next week.

Cheers, AB

Advertisement



10th September 2009

Hello!
Hi Alison Oh, your beach paradise sounds just fantastic... we have had some more bad news at Centric - Mike Pillemer has now left Centric. Apparantly they couldn't come to an agreement on his contract renewal....I'm yet to find out the real reason. Then we went to lunch to catch up with Celia, and Zalman announced that he is leaving as well! We won't have any old faces around here at the rate we are going!! Celia is looking really well and is enjoying Brissy, but it still doesn't feel like home yet! Nic is only a few weeks away from having the bub, so that will keep them more than distracted I'm sure! So, that's again having a bit of a downer impact on the place, yet again. Much more pleasant on the beach, I can tell you! Serina is back and it sounds like she also had an amazing trip - I'm sure you will hear more about it from her. Nothing much more to report - just waiting for the total fallout from Mike's departure to hit..... Better get back to work - I have more reports to write than you can poke a stick at! Keep enjoying your trip and I hope that it isn't too hot for the next part! Cheers Deb xxx
10th September 2009

Hi Al, It all sounds fab. I'm enjoying your blogs. Watch out when you get off the plane in Kathmandu as that's where I met Tim- walking across the tarmac to the little terminal!!! That should be a warning to you. Enjoy. I'm planning on seeing Ann in a couple of weekends. I'm hoping to go to Brooklyn. Can't wait. This time last year we were just sitting a that wonderful restaurant on the footpath where we both got sloshed. Good times. Love, DenXXX
17th September 2009

Hi Deb Great to hear from you..... I have heard the Centric news. Very sad and I can imagine the mood in not great. Keep your chin up, and just pretend you are with me. Cheers, alison
17th September 2009

Hi Den. Don't worry no Tims in sight. You wouldn't recognise Kathmandu. It is just so much more crowded and busy. Thamel is a heaving tourist mecca. Not the pleasant little oasis it was 15 years ago. Yes, I have been reminising about our Road Trip last year. Ali xx

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb