Holiday in paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
June 10th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday 29th of May, 2009
We flew in to Hong Kong on the date up above the page. There was nothing else to eat because everything was shut down and so we ate Mcdonalds. It was the worst food we’ve ever had. We went to bed

Saturday 30th of May, 2009
Today we went to the lady market and there was at least twenty shoe shops of nike shoes. Remi wanted to get a pair of Nike Sb so we tried to find the kind he wanted but we couldn’t find them. I bought a pair of checkers going out shoes, a stylis, coca cola and blueberry sticks which you dipped into sour things and banana chocolate. Went back to the hotel and had a swim then we packed our bags and get out. It was a very tiring trip with the buses and flights to get to Guilin.

Sunday 31st of May, 2009
Daddy, Remi and I went for a walk across the road to the riverside. There was people washing their clothes in the river by hand. There was a lovely lady dancing by herself waving her arms around and as we walked down a bit further there was like a martial arts class that you could just join in. We walked to the end of the street and there was all these people lined up doing a dance and after the dance there was another number and a lady asked me to dance with her and so I did. It was to the lyrics of boom boom boom. After that we packed our bags and caught a taxi to Moon resort out in the mountains.
We had lunch and I tried vegetable fried rice and I liked it. I don’t usually like rice. I also had a banana pancake and I loved it. After our family decided that we should always eat at WeiWei’s which is the owner of Moon Resort because her food was great. We went up the road and shopped in the street markets, mum and I bought some pretty bracelets. We went back after a while and planned the night and the next day. That night we went Cormorant fishing and I held a cormorant bird on my arm. We went to bed excited for the next day.
Monday the 31st of May
The next day we went to the caves. Dad was to scared to go, same with mum but remi and I went and mum quickly got on the boat when she saw our faces. The tour guide kept mum going, remi and me went in the water fall then the mud bath then the hot springs. That day was chirldrens day in china so all the children get to have a day
Tuesday the 1st of June
We went bicycle riding along the countryside until we got to the river where we went rafting on a bamboo raft. I swam to Remi and Dad’s raft then back mum and I’s raft when we were floating down the Li river. We got soaked when we got to the end of the river because it was pouring with rain. We still had to ride our bikes back to Wei wei’s. We had a nice lunch after our hot showers.

Wednesday the 2nd of June
I had a manicure, pedicure painted pretty pink
And back to moon resort for late lunch early dinner.
Then catch up on homework and pack to leave to the
Airport to fly to Bangkok . Here comes the hot.



Bangkok (4th June- 8th June)
We arrive in Bangkok and went to bed. The next day we went to the buffet and health meal and then we did some schoolwork, did some shopping then the pool.
Next day was not a very exciting day because daddy was being tattooed all day in his room. We did a lot of school work and that night we went to the night market but we were really tired when we got back so hit the bed.
Next day we went to Chatuchuk Markets were I got a lot of t-shirts and fun things and I can’t wait to show you when I get home. Back to the hotel and to the pool for the whole day. Of course that was after my fashion show!
Sunday, Back to Chatuchuk for more shopping. This time it was way different because dad thought mum was obsessed over some shoes but when he realized what it was he got a shock, mum was not looking at shoes we had bumped our massage person from home, William! We decided that day we’d had enough of no beaches so we decided to hit the beach and go to Koh Lanta.

Monday 8th of June.
We arrived in Koh Lanta and when I got to the Why not Bar, there was no Ali, there was no Cho, No dread lock dood, no Kim but other new people. I was a little disappointed. We went for a swim. Just as I was feely sad I realized that there was one person that I hadn’t seen, Napoli! The owner of Why Not. He stopped and said hello Mika and I couldn’t believe that he knew my name

Last year we met a person called wuan and then amazingly saw her a week ago but with her blind boy friend Daniel. Wuan introduced us. Dad and mum were the best of friends with Daniel and Wan .Wan invited us to lunch down in the river under a shady tree were we could all walk up the sand wall on to the beach for a swim. Wan made a really cool fire with rocks ,twigs and coal. She cooked prawns ,potatoes and a massive fish. I don’t think remi was impressed with the fish. Mum and I went with Wan to see her getting the top scales off the fish to cook. When we were walking back we saw a baby cobra trying to get back in the jungle. Wan got a cloth and wet it to pick the snake up. At last she grabbed the head and ran to put the crazy little snake in its habitat.

Every year our family raise money for the local school children and this year we bought them books, television and dvd. The next week we all loaded everything in the truck for
the kids. When we got there we saw a girl called Emily she was
scooping the white bits out of the coconuts. We set up everything like the coconut drink ,apples, milk , fried prawns , pad Thai and ice cream. When the first kids came everybody was ready. I handed out the apples and milk. At lunch time we saw girls playing a game with long rubber bands there are 2 or 3 people holding the rubber bands high and some in line to jump up and get there leg up and catch the rubber band to the ground.


Later on, all the kids came to the ground and sat down to listen to the teacher who told them if they wanted to learn the game twister and of course they said yes! so some got very twisted some didn’t, it was funny. After that mum,dad and unfortunately me had to get up in front of everyone while mum made a speech. We presented the tv, dvd and books to the school, Pi, our friend from the resort next door helped us. It was a great day.

At that night time at the Why Not bar, we saw Nong ( a bar man) who gave mum and dad some of his curry that he’d cooked. He learned how to make curry in Krabi as a child when his mother cooked for the travelers at the bus station. He would help her get on the busses and sell the food. I see Nong cooking every single night, different kinds of curries for all the staff. That night we saw a person called Mai and she works at an expensive resort called Pimalai as a restaurant manager. Now she is a very good friend of ours and she is Nongs girlfriend. We first met her when Nong gave me some chicken which was really chilli and she gave me some donuts to cheer me up. I am going to interview her for some of my school work.
There is a guy called Ban and he keeps on telling me that he forgot his name and so I call him ‘fireshow’ because he does the fireshows at night. When I have had a nice shower and I’m all clean, I go to the bar in the afternoon when the boys, barmen and locals are playing soccer. After soccer Fireshow always purposely gets me wet when he hugs me. He loves my Nintendo DS game Mario cart and always says “where’s my game, where’s my game?”
I have met a local girl called Bo who can speak quite a lot of English. She comes down some afternoons and plays with me and she’s funny because she calls daddy King Kong.

The other day, Napoli brought his friends to Koh Lanta. One was an Aussie and her boyfriend, Wood owns a Bar in Krabi called Fu Bar. He is a cool dood with cool dreads. The aussie girl is called Robin. Both of them took me up to Napolis really beautiful house. The shower is made out of a coconut and there’s a bridge to the toilet and a very nice place to wash your hands. Wood wants me to come to the Fu Bar with Remi and mum and dad.

The other day we drove on the motor bike. Dad stopped his motorbike and there was a monkey on the side of the road. Mum and I stopped right beside it and it came right towards us, we rode off screaming. Jack (another barmen) told mum we were lucky he didn’t bite us!

Pi asked us one night if we’d like to go to the Emerald Pool and hot springs. We said yes.
The next day we got ready and waited for him. We drove off and when we got there we started walking. We went there the long way and it was really beautiful. Once we heard screaming, laughing and kids having fun, we knew we were close. When we got there it was all locals and no foreign tourists. When I saw some local children sliding down the waterfall I thought I’d give it a try. Once I started I couldn’t stop. It was hard to get up but there were like rocky bits that you could put your hands and feet. The waterfall was very small and narrow. As I slid down I went from side to side. After the Emerald Pool we walked back the short way in the pouring rain. When we got to the parking lot we took shelter under cover and got dressed. We still wanted to go to the Hot springs so we got in the car and drove off to the hotsprings. When we got there it was a closer distance to walk and it was only sprinkling. We got to the hotsprings, jumped in and it was really nice. Pi said that the other side of the river was his new resort that he was building so we decided to swim across. When we got onto the bamboo steps dad said watch the thorns but we were ok. We found lots of manmade pools with the same water as the hotsprings but hotter because it doesn’t move around. We went back to the normal hotsprings. There’s a big strong vine shaped like a swing that I sat on and swang. We went back home and went to bed because I was so tired.
Having a lot of fun and missing Australia. (except the cold weather!) Bye!





Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb