Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
April 2nd 2009
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Islands often give the feeling of peace and tranquility. You travel to them to relax, read some books, grab some sand and sun. I had such visions in my head as I headed to Ko Lanta in Southern Thailand. Careful research led me to this island as it was less prostitute filled than Phuket and more laid back than raving Ko Samui. A little diving, some light reading and a lot of sleeping on Khon Klong beach were the plan for a couple of days. I arrived at a place called Fisherman's Cottage which was a beachside group of bungalows that had space enough for a bed and an outdoor shower. Ideally suited for my plans, I was ready for it. Everything was going along well enough, I had returned from diving Ko Haa amongst the leopard sharks and octupuses and was napping away the afternoon when the sound system at the bar starting blaring:

"Whoah oh oh ohhhhhh ...... Whoah oh oh ohhhhhhh......
Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting
Those cats were fast as lightning"

Obviously curious as to why the music was blaring and why in the hell we were listening to "Everybody was kung fu fighting," I went out to see what was happening.

Turns out it was Kun's (the owner of the place) birthday and they were just getting set up for the party. All the guests were invited to a dinner and cake. Kun and his 4 friends who run the place (not sure on the spelling of their names but they sounded like O, Un, Bare and Lat) were pretty excited to have everyone involved. The 5 of them were all good friends when they decided to just go into the bungalow business and have a lot of fun with everyone. They could be business geniuses judging by the people I met that night. Most of the other guests were repeat customers. Dave had been coming to the bungalows for the past 9 years, Kristof and his wife Suzanne had been there for the past 4 years. All 11 bungalows were occupied during the start of low season in a bad year of tourism on the island. They were doing something right.

As Kung Fu Fighting continued to play almost hourly, dinner was served followed by the prerequisite birthday cake and then came the beer. Soon after tequila shots showed
Fisherman's CottageFisherman's CottageFisherman's Cottage

Things got out of hand quickly.
up (why is it always Tequila?) and then things slowly got interesting. First it was the fire dancing. O and another lady took turns dousing chains and some absorbant material with gasoline and then proceeded to dance while twirling the fire all around them. Kristof had bought fireworks for the occasion and rather large (think city firework show quality) fireworks shot through the sky. Later on fire laterns were lit and sent off to the skies. The winds took them out over the Adaman Sea in a UFO appearing manner. I am sure the fisherman out to sea were quite used to this, but I was rather impressed by it all.

Quite early the next morning, I stumbled back to my bungalow as the evening's title track played one last time. I couldn't help but laugh a little (not because of the song) at the fact that I had come to Ko Lanta for some rest and relaxation and instead witnessed the ultimate place of friendship. 5 guys without a real plan but to enjoy living each day. Whether it was afternoon soccer, taking over the neighbors pool or having a birthday party for one another, they were ready
KunKunKun

He was definitely Kung Fu Fighting!
to have some fun. Turns out I got what I wanted regardless of what I thought I needed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dancing with FireDancing with Fire
Dancing with Fire

O goes to work
LanternsLanterns
Lanterns

Lightning them and setting them off to the sea


6th April 2009

Fire dancing!
And I thought having prom on my birthday was awesome, but we didn't have fire dancing! We will have to step it up next year.
7th April 2009

WOW
That sounds like a blast! Can't wait to see you!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb