Vertical in Koh Lanta


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
March 5th 2009
Published: March 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The clue is in the title about my current activity in the beautiful island of Koh Lanta. The biggest decision I am having to make every day is what bikini to wear and which factor suncream should be used today.. It has to be the firts time on my trip that I have truly relaxed and done absolutely nothing. I am feeling somwhat guilty about my lack of activity, I am sure that Koh Lanta has alot more to offer than wonderful beaches and freshly caught seafood cooked on the many beach bbq's but for now I live in sin...

The trip from phi phi was hassle free, mainly because I had my accom pre-booked in phi phi so I was not a target for the many touts we had travelling with us on the boat. Opting once again for an outside seat I baked in the morning sunshine and made the most of the cool breeze on the 1 and a half hour ferry crossing. Like evereywhere in Thaialnd, you get to the pier which was full of touts selling accom and taxi rides. I board my somewhat rickity tuk tuk, that nearly toppled with the weight of my light rucksack (god help me) and done the 2km journey to Pha ra beach to the accom Lantawadee. I have to say I was somewhat impressed by my accomodation, set in amongst a small plantation, it was definetly had way more character than my previous accom in Phi Phi. A small bamboo bungalow with bags of character and a bathroom with no ceiling (you would have to see it to believe it). I found myself heading straight for the beach on my first day and armed with my factor 20 suncream and determined not to burn my feet again I spent the rest of the day basking in the sunshine. The beach is also known as long beach and once again the clue is in the title, a long white streach of sand that seems endless. Koh Lanta waters are not as green as the waters in Phi Phi, but just as warm and just as clear.

That evening I opted for a seafood bbq in the sunset beach followed by a jazz party. The Sunset bar is run by a nice guy and his brother 'song'. The major difference that I was already discoveirng about Koh Lanta compared to Phi Phi was the friendliness of the local thai's. Follwing the bbq I headed off to the jazz party at Iries bar. The buckets were in full flow as was the quirky thai band, singing a number of classic songs but with an electric jazz spin on it. Personally not really my cup of tea, but the party goers of Koh Lanta were in full swing, including the older guys dad dancing, in flip flops to jazz - the combination was not really working too well. Neverthelsess Iries bar was a cool bar, housing the majority of travellers to the island. In fact so many dreadlocks to be seen that I thought I had be transported back to Glastonbury for a few moments... Maybe it was just the effect of the buckets!? One thing that was apparant here was the opneness of the use of drugs, with people smoking 'funny' cigarettes (as my mother would refer to them) in the bars and rather open conversation about the use of drugs - each to their own!

The next day I made the tough decision on what bikini to wear and headed for the day down to the same beach, on the same sun lounger, drinking the same drink and eating in the same place for lunch! I was turning into a same same tourist!! But it was nice to do something familar with not a great deal of decision or choice involved. Later in the day my sun worshipping was disturbed by an almighty thunderstorm that was literally bucketing down. After getting soaked retrurning to my room, I had to face the reality that my quirky outdoor (no ceiling bathroom) was not going to be the most ideal situation. I would just like to say following this experience, you have not lived unless you have had a pee in a thunderstorm. Definetly nearing the top of the 100 things to do before you die!?! So I waited for the rain to clear before proceeding with my shower, why? I'm not to sure, as I was going to get whatever the weather, but I think the thunder and lighting was affecting me a little bit more than I would of liked to of let on. After the storm had cleared I was rather bemused to hear what sounded like ducks out the back of bungalow. Now I was fully aware that my bungalow backed onto a stream, but DUCKS?? Seemed kinda strange to me. I was later to discover the ducks, were in fact toads, who with their croaking were to keep me up most of the night. I cannot explain to you the noise of these things! almost deafening...

That everning I opted for the jamming session at the Irish bar. So glad I went to this bar. Firslty it had toilet paper and soap (a real treat) but also had a great atmostphere with a mixture of tourist and ex-pats. I have to also say following my last blog I take back some of my comments about ex-pats as I was to make great friends with Darren and Natielly who run this funky little bar. I have now created a new catorgorie for these people "the cool people" which I have to say that Lanta is full of...

Today, yet again I have been sunning myself and not moving for very much, I have also booked my ferry out of here for tomorrow morning. I have to say it was a hard decision whether to leave Lanta so soon, but I fear if I don't move now, then the likelyhood is that I won't move at all. I am eager to see the gulf side of Thailand! Who would of thought just a week ago I was toying with the idea of not coming to see the Adamamen side of Thailand, a decison I am gratfully I dids not pursue.

All in all my time over this side has been good, meeting some nice people and seeing a wonderful side to the relaxed Thai way of life. I have to say my biggest discovery coming this side is that "a beautiful destination" is not always determined by the postcard images of the beaches, but is determined by the local people and the way of life. I would reccomend anyone to come to Koh Lanta, and if I were you, do a one day boat trip to see the island of Phi Phi whilst you are here - as it should not be missed, but maybe does not always warrant a few nights stay! Again each to their own..

I hope everyone is well, not to cold hopefully😉 love to all xx

Advertisement



6th March 2009

hello doll, Just been reading and chucklin away at your blog. I ken exactly what you mean regarding your aptly named "twat" category - sometimes I feel I am surrounded by them. I even have sub-categories - "twat supreme" (people who have been living on an island for way too long) Thank you for me and Darren (and the Irish Embassy's!) positive mention. Glad you had a good time and it was great talking to you. Am very relieved to have missed said category and delighted to have been a founder of the new one! It's a shame you have decided to leave (spend a long time here and you would be suprised how "busy" you day becomes....what with midday breakfast, re-application of suncream, beer time, cocktail time..) It was really nice to meet you and speak to a non-twat. Good luck in all your travels and take care doll, fae Nat x

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb