From Koh Lanta with love


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
December 21st 2006
Published: December 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Take Care. I finished typing those words and then made my way down to the dock on Ko Phi Phi. "Ko Lanta! Ko Lanta!" beconed me to the right ship and I went aboard. I took a spot on top of the deck to enjoy the nice breeze and what was shaping up to be a beautiful day. Then, once everyone was aboard, we took off towards Ko Lanta......but we didn't get far. Did our boat just stall (the look on my face asked)? Apparently not, but we stayed floating in one spot for almost 15 minutes. Then, a sputtering engine started to bring us back to the docks, but stops just before them. I see a long tail boat pull up next to us....and moments later we are driving away from the dock again. Then the engines shut down again. For maybe 5 minutes. Then they start again. (If my writing sounds confusing, then I'm truely conveying how I felt when this was happening.) At this point, I see another boat, around the same size, coming in our direction. It slows down. Our captain starts up the engines again, and we start to maneuver our way towards the other boat. Are they serious?

I yell out to the other boat "Lower your sails and give us your booty!"

Everyone from each boat was taking pictures of this fiasco. So as our ships saddle up to one another, I spot a young thai boy who hops from the other boat to ours with a bag of chips in his hand.

"Well, we got what we can for I suppose, time to push off"

Guess not, cause about then people start leaping the gap from one boat to another. Kids, adults, the elderly, babies, so many people were attempting this acrobatic feat. I'm not too sure why it was so important that we get these people, or why we didn't just do the exchange at the dock a mere 100 feet away, but I guess someone, somewhere, felt it was necessary. With plunder of people aboard we started our boat trip to Ko Lanta.

The Docks of Ko Lanta. Same same but different. Touts trying to sell you a room, me refusing their silly silly outragous prices, and then hoping something good happens. Well, at the point in time when all the touts are gone, the shops are closing, the tourist information has shut down (after calling about 3 places, all of which would not give me a room for the price I wanted), and after the tourist man has told me that this is a massive island and it'll be pretty much impossible to go anyway.....yeah, at this point...I have a seat. I sit. sit a little longer. stand once. then sit. and around that moment when i sat back down from standing, I met a thai guy who asks me where I wanna go, and how much I wanna pay. I say I don't know where to go, but I tell him my price. He agrees and tells me to wait, beucase he needs more people from more boats to fill his taxi. While waited we shoot the bull. These guys are absolutely halarious, and they're loving a few of the jokes that I know in Thai. Finally, the truck is full and we're off to our destination.

My destination. I was intending on staying for a night or two, then who knows, go somewhere, maybe Phuket, maybe Bangkok. I have new intentions. I landed in paradise. This place is aboslutely amazing. The view from my room, stunning. The food, delicious. The occupants, interesting. The staff, halarious. The bar, perfect.

As I say, I have new intentions. I'll be staying here for Christmas now. I think I've been here for 3 days now, and I've travelled a total of about 400 meters. The beach is so secluded and there is good snorkelling as well. Last night I had a full sized BBQ'd Mung Fish. Yummy. Two thai people who run the bar are fluent in English and the most halarious people I have ever met. I can't even say enough good things about this place, so I'm just not gonna try.

That's all I guess.

haha, maybe I'll toss in a quote or two:

"Smoke, it makes you cooler." - A sign I saw at a place selling tobacco in Ko Pha Ngan
"...I am a draygon.......I can breath fiya" - Wah
"Clap if you want to be cool" - Wah
" I have no words" - Bartollo (when asked to speak to the camera)
" Be like water" - Pepe
"Kun Bai Naaaaaaiiiiiiiii" - Me (in Thai: Where you goooooooooooooo?

Yeah, I think that's it.

Till next time. Take Care!


Advertisement



23rd December 2006

Merry Christmas
Brody, have been checking your blog from the beginning, what a super trip your having.....guess you really do like to party huh! LOL, you have a wonderful Christmas and a very Happy New Year, you take care.
26th December 2006

Merry Christmas Brodie! I got your blog address a little while ago, and it's great. Hope you're enjoying the holiday over there. We will miss you on wine hike, but I'm pretty sure any fun we'll be having you will be at least trippling, so I am not going to feel bad for you. Have a good one.
29th December 2006

missed you in PR
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year hun.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb