Finding a hippy groove on Long Beach


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Lanta
February 16th 2019
Published: February 16th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was a beach day. I was up super early after being disturbed by some loud Germans chatting away in the reception area until midnight. Not really their fault, just wished they’d bugger off to bed already! I had breakfast at Aleena’s Minimart, lovely porridge and banana, a cup of tea and a sandwich to takeaway for lunch. Fab, fab selection of food there, but there’s no shortage of options along the lane. I chatted to an Italian guy who’d been in the same restaurant last night, recovering from a few days of being ill. I was the first English person he’d been able to understand. My training must have stood for something, then....

There are sunbeds on the beach with trees for shade, in front of a minimarket and massage place. What a contrast to Ao Nang. Nobody once asked me if I wanted a massaaaaaa, the ladies just sat and chatted until someone came along. The minimarket sold fresh fruit on a table in front, it was the most relaxing place to be. I managed to make it over to Mr Wee’s Pizzeria for an iced coffee and they had wifi which reached as far as my sunbed, just about.

After the beach I walked up to the main road to find an atm or moneychanger. No shortage of either. My lane has the most amazing funky hippy type places, all made of bamboo and driftwood, like a sort of sophisticated Swiss Family Robinson affair. The Tree House Bar had live music but were a bit vague about the start time. At the top of the road I found a Muay Thai stadium, a small one, but it will do for a visit tomorrow night. It starts at 9pm, VIP seats are 1200b, normal ones 800b, which should do fine. I couldn’t see anything that looked very VIP. They must be the seats right at the front. No gambling (surprising) or guns (not surprising) allowed. I fo7nd an atm along the road outside a supermarket, 220b withdrawal fee.

Wlake snack to the bar next to the sunbeds for a drink and stayed for dinner. They had a guy singing. Bless him, his voice was fine but he’d obviously leant the lyrics just by listening and singing along. He had no clue. I actually looked the lyrics up on my phone to see what he was on about. He battled on through Hey Jude and Angel. I was really tempted to offer him some free lessons, and was on the verge of asking one of the bar guys to ask him, but was worried it might be misconstrued, so chickened our and went to the Cannabis Bar for a drink instead, lolling about on rastafarian cushions and going a bit boggle eyed at the rotating lights.

Tomorrow is volunteer day at Lanta Animal Welfare, 2 miles further down Long Beach. I’ve said I’ll get there at 9 and stay til 5. So a day’s work, of a kind! Really looking forward to it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb