Koh Chang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Chang
January 22nd 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I travelled from Chiang Mai directly to the island of Koh Chang, an island in the southwest of Thailand. Rather a long tiring journey!

I arrived rather late, so ended up in a dirty, old bungalow on White Sands Beach. White Sands Beach is incredibly touristy and ugly - they have built hotels right down to the water, very narrow beach available. I searched for reasonably affordable accomodation that was at least clean, but everything was overpriced.

I opted to leave after the first day, travelling further down the southwest coast of the island to Lonely Beach. I stayed for 7 days at Nature Bungalows in a private fan cooled bungalow for 600 baht a night. I could probably have negotiated the rate, but I thought I was only going to stay for two nights and then explore more of the island.

Instead I spent 7 days swimming, sunbathing, eating well, reading (the resort had a decent library of current authors in English), shopping in the small strip of shops and restaurants and generally lazing around. I also took a massage on a open-air, beachside massage shop. It was a wonderful way to wind up my trip!

I returned to Bangkok on the 29th.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb