Every Day A New Adventure


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Lak
February 5th 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lately I've been placing some photos that may not really show what's going on here, so this time I'll be more candid. Maybe this time you can see what I'm doing here besides getting lots of sunshine and meeting lots of friends.

The Bangkok temple group photo was taken about three weeks ago when I was asked by Airline Ambassadors International (AAI) to be their Project Manager on a proposal by the temple to build a small trade school within the compound. About ten students from disadvantaged backgrounds will attend a 3-4 month school to learn electrical skills, electronics repair and assistant nursing. Just recently I received an email from AAI that they have decided to fund this project. This means I could be in Bangkok for around 4-5 months. In the interim period I have booked my tickets to Nairobi, Kenya to work on at an orphange for ten days with AAI members. I'm pretty damn excited about this trip. After the mission, I will make my way to Cairo, Egypt (Sorry, mom, I'm gonna beat you to the pyramids) to spend a week doing some photography and visiting the Valley of the Kings among other places. This Africa
Disabled BreadwinnerDisabled BreadwinnerDisabled Breadwinner

Recently unable to walk and needs help
trip starts on April 1st until the 26th. Oh...back to the temple. The Wat Arun Rajawararam (aka: Temple of Dawn) is probably one of the most notable temples in all of Thailand. It is known to be the Center for Buddha-Dhamma Practice and International Charity. Its an honor to be a part of this project.

The man pictured with me in white t-shirts is a local man from Bang Muang, the town near where the tsunami hit. I visited him while on the house project I'm managing for AAI. I was told by his wife (through an interpreter) that he cannot walk as his legs have mysteriously lost all motor skills. Just four months ago he worked as a motorbike taxi driver and now has no income. His back is beginning to show signs of bed sores and his future looks grim as he says his condition is getting progressively worse. He's seen only one local doctor and I know from first-hand knowledge that this hospital is limited on its abilities to provide an in-depth diagnosis. He's only received medication and x-rays. After seeing his condition and inability to be mobile within his home and front porch areas, I
Disabled BreadwinnerDisabled BreadwinnerDisabled Breadwinner

Recently unable to walk and needs help
drove to Phuket (75 miles) and purchased a wheelchair for him. I wish I could do more. And then I realized after bringing other foreigners to see him on occassion that an expat from England is willing to fund another visit to a very reputable hospital (world-class, actually, as many foreigners come to Phuket for sex-change operations and cosmetic surgery for its cheaper prices) and get him a proper diagnosis and perhaps even some MRI scans. Its possible that he has a tumor or other ailment that can be corrected through surgery and maybe....just maybe....he can walk again. I'm crossing my fingers. In additon to his hospital visit, Mark (the Englishman) is going to rebuild a part of his roof that leaks profusely when it rains and rebuild the front of his home with a new doorway a larger windows. Its amazing how things come together when you just spread the word. The local community around him provide some food and other neccessities out of kindness, even though they have little themselves. If anyone out there is interesting in helping him, you can email me for my banking info and send money for his medical expenses. We suspect that his
Project Family HomeProject Family HomeProject Family Home

Airline Ambassadors International builds a home for Bang Muang family
bills could come to around $400-500, but thats a guess. It would cost thousands for the same treatment in the USA.

The house project I mentioned is a project I started via the woman, Rotjana, that directs the refugee camp here. I put in a proposal to AAI and they funded the project ($4000-$5000) to build this house for a local woman that takes care of five children, most not her own. She was a victim of the tsunami and is supporting seven people on her salary. She sold noodles from her motorbike for months after the tsunami and just recently returned to her old job as a cook in a nearby resort hotel.

New Year's Eve was a bit quiet for me, actually. I left my bungalow at 12:02am when I heard nearby firecrackers. I went down to the main street and met up with some of my friends. Pictured are an Indian family that owns a local tailor shop and some volunteers. Had fun. But it doesn't beat when I was in Times Square just after 9-11. Well, sorta.

Photos of me with groups of children are a normal occurance. The children lined up by
Ban Nam Khem SchoolhouseBan Nam Khem SchoolhouseBan Nam Khem Schoolhouse

Children enjoy their new school after the tsunami
the chalkboard are from Ban Nam Khem, the hardest hit area of Thailand. They are in their new classroom. The young girl in the center with her head tilted and a big smile is "Bo". She is sweet and whenever I visit the camp or school, she tries to position herself so that I don't miss her. She's one of my favorites, but I have to be careful not to tell the others! The kids in my truckbed are at the refugee camp that I visit nearly every two days. They got ice cream this time!

In front of the monk and sitting with me is Aliza, Anna Hedstrom (of AAI) and Lucinda all from America. I met Aliza when I overheard her asking a Thai policeman on how to catch the bus to Khao Lak. I offered a ride and then her friend Lucinda joined her a day later. Anna Hedstrom came to Khao Lak to volunteer with the AAI group, but the group had to cancel their trip due to administration issues. While visiting the temple in Bang Muang, the monk offered to give us a Buddhist blessing. We sat facing him on our knees, palms together
New Friends in Khao LakNew Friends in Khao LakNew Friends in Khao Lak

Aliza, Anna, Me and Lucinda enjoy dinner in Khao Lak
as he chanted in Thai for nearly 5 minutes. I have to admit it was quite emotional as sometimes I wonder what I'm even doing on this side of the world. I constantly remind myself that I'm fortunate enough to have the chance to be here and never dreamed I would be in front of the head monk in Thailand getting a blessing. He then gave us buddhist pendants and wrist bands. It was quite an experience. The photo of the four of us together at dinner in Khao Lak later that evening. The next day the four of us visited some islands off the Phang Nga coast, went kayaking and then they went on their merry ways to other locations. Khao Lak giveth and Khao Lak taketh away. 😞

Photo of me standing in the Ban Sok National Park about 50 miles from my bungalow. Its beautiful here. And hot! No cross-country trekking in the jungle...too many cobra snakes.

On the nearby beach of Bang Lut, where I visit every now and then and is almost always deserted, I noticed a longtail boat drifting at sea. I thought I saw a fisherman on board, but paid no
Khao Lak New Year's EveKhao Lak New Year's EveKhao Lak New Year's Eve

Mixmatch of friends from around the globe celebrate New Year's Eve in Khao Lak
attention really as I see so many of them. But about 45 minutes later the boat was coming ashore sideways and when it hit the wave breaks, it beached itself. I sat for a few moments and stared, hoping to see someone nearby. I thought maybe I hadn't seen the fisherman after all and that it simply broke loose from its mooring and drifted out to sea. Ban Nam Khem docks are about a mile away. Then I decided to get up and walk (400 yards) to look inside the boat and maybe put the motor tail in a secure position so it doesn't get damaged from the rocking surf. Then inside I noticed a dark-skinned Burmese fisherman in his underwear (usual dress when fishing here in the sun) and two empty bottles of beer. I checked his pulse and noticed he was breathing. He was passed out and completely unresponsive. I then walked back to my backpack to retrieve my cell phone when suddenly ten people appeared on the beach. Someone else must have seen him and called the medics. We lifted him out of the boat (like a wet noodle) and carried him to the shade of the
Never Too Old For Ice CreamNever Too Old For Ice CreamNever Too Old For Ice Cream

Orphans in Nam Khem enjoy ice cream
nearby palm trees. My many years as an Emergency Medical Technician guided me in making sure he was okay. Pulse check, cooling water poured over his body to lower his blood temperature (he was in the scortching heat for a long time) and rolled him on his side in case he vomited he would not choke on it. The medics then arrived, put him on a backboard and hauled him away. A few of us then secured his boat to a palm tree so it would not go back to sea when the tide came in. I hope he's okay. Just another day in Thailand. I even knew some of the people on the beach and now I'm beginning to feel like a local!

Photo of tsunami-damaged hotel near my bungalow in Khao Lak. Some may never be rebuilt and its too expensive to hire crews to demolish them.

The two children in the room with me are from a small village owned by a local golf course. The families here work for the company and live in company-owned housing. Meager digs, but at least they are employed. I was able to visit them while another organization is
Bang Muang TempleBang Muang TempleBang Muang Temple

Buddhist Temple Blessing in Bang Muang
considering helping some of the families financially.

And so, there you have it. Hope you enjoyed this blog and I welcome your emails! Its always good to hear from you all!





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Thailand OutbackThailand Outback
Thailand Outback

Thailand Outback
Troubled Burmese FishermanTroubled Burmese Fisherman
Troubled Burmese Fisherman

Troubled Burmese Fisherman
Children of Takua PaChildren of Takua Pa
Children of Takua Pa

Local children and family invite me into their home to see how they live in hopes of getting help from foreigners.


5th February 2006

Lillies of the Field
Hi John, Your latest adventure with building the temple reminds me of the movie 'Lillies of the Field' with Sidney Poitier. He just happens to be passing by a small group of nuns and the next thing he knows he's been coerced into building them a chapel. You will really appreciate this movie. Should have sent it with all the other DVDs I collected for you. Well, you can watch it when you get back stateside and see what I mean! Take care!! Love, your sister, Laura

Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 73; dbt: 0.2636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb