Similan Islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Khao Lak
December 4th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Empty BeachEmpty BeachEmpty Beach

Serene in the morning
Today we took a trip on the Lady Sarojin - the hotel's boat - to the Similan Islands. The Similan Islands are a group of 9 islands off the coast of Thailand in the Andaman sea that is now a national park. There is lots of snorkling and diving in the area.

After a nice and early wake up call, followed by breakfast, we boarded the boat for our day trip. Our guides were Jack and Au, and we were joined on the boat by 5 other couples (all from the UK & Australia - you meet very few Americans in Thailand). We got the seats in the front of the boat, but I thought the sun would be the only rough point - boy was I wrong. Once that boat got a moving, it was moving A LOT! Up and down, left and right....damn.

The trip from Khao Lak to the Similan Islands is about an hour and a half. After about an hour of the movement, I was done. Moved myself to the back of the boat, in the shade with clear overedge access - I felt SO ill! But we finally made it to our first
Boarding the boatBoarding the boatBoarding the boat

Meet the Lady Sarojin - carries up to twelve guests and a whole lot of alcohol.
stop - Island 5 - to snorkle and I jumped off that boat as fast as I could. Still holding my dignity, and my breakfast. The water at island 5 was quite bumpy, but geared with our lifevests and snorkles, we explored the world down below.

After the rocky water, we got back onto the rocky boat - and I think the ride to island 9 did it - I lost my cookies over the side of the boat. But then I did feel much, much better. Dan was a trooper though, taking pictures of me in all my glory.

Another snorkling stop at island 9 (didnt see any sea turtles unfortunately, but lots of very cool fish!), then we went to island 8 for lunch. It has a little sandy beach and some buildings on this island - buildings for the park apparently. But the beach - the softest sand I think I have ever felt in my life! It was amazing!

And lunch - a little picnic box it was not. Jack and Au set up a beautiful table with a great meal - meats and cheeses to start, followed by our choice of fish for lunch, and then a beautiful fruit plate (definitely worth the trip with the hotel versus the bigger public boats from town)!

After lunch, we had some time to chill on the beach or snorkle a bit more (of course we chose the former) - and then again boarded for the ride back. Some people on the boat had extra sea-sick pills so I made it back just fine.

When we got back, the hotel was starting its weekly cocktail party for all the guests to meet the management and stuff. It was nice, and now we had some friends to chat with. After that, we had some complimentary spa certificates to use, so Dan and I both enjoyed a nice thai massage followed by a relaxing dinner on the beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Fishing BoatFishing Boat
Fishing Boat

Passed a few fishing boats out on the water
Island 5 againIsland 5 again
Island 5 again

Check out the color of that water.
Danny snorklingDanny snorkling
Danny snorkling

like a little fishy
Dry landDry land
Dry land

I think it was still rocking a little...
The bay of island 8The bay of island 8
The bay of island 8

All the other beach dwellers left and we had it all to ourselves
Boarding the shuttle boatBoarding the shuttle boat
Boarding the shuttle boat

too shallow for the lady sarojin to pull all the way in
Becky & DanBecky & Dan
Becky & Dan

onthe shuttle boat.
Becky & DanBecky & Dan
Becky & Dan

on the lady sarojin


6th December 2007

give up boeing....write books!
7th December 2007

WELCOME HOME
HI GUYS, IF THIS WASN'T THE BEST HONYMOON EVER I WOULD LIKE TO SEE WHAT WAS. HOW WONDERFULL FOR TWO MOST BEAUTIFULL YOUNG PEOPLE. I WONT BE ABLE TO REMEMBER ALL THE DIFFERENT THINGS BUT I AM SURE YOU TWO ALWAYS WILL.. HOPE YOU FIND THINGS IN SEATTLE OK. LOVE, GRANDPA

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb