The oldest girl scout ever...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chalong
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think I am roughing it. I live in a bungalow and cook outside on an open flame. My bathroom doesn't have a working light bulb.

Okay, so my little bungalow also has air-con, a good bed, a microwave, fridge, and hot/cold shower. Plus a pool and palm trees. And internet. So it's not exactly that rough. But I think my life is about to get a little more wilderness-esqe.

My school made me Girl Guide Leader. It's like the girl scouts that we all grew up with back at home. The same, but Thai-style.

I am, however, the leader for the Forang (foreign) girls- the girls who come from Western countries like the UK, The States, and Scotland. But still- how am I supposed to lead a group of twenty some-odd girls into the wilderness of Thailand and survive? We go on a weekend camping trip. Yes, camping. Tents and bugs and camp fires and all the luxury a sleeping bad and flash light can offer. Plus the responsibility of twenty other people. Not even people- kids.

AAAHHHHHHH! Would you feel comfortable sending your child with me into the forests of Phuket? There are poisonous snakes and centipedes in my house area- what venomous surprises await in the jungle?

No one really seems that concerned, except me.

One of my all time favorite movies is Troop Beverly Hills. It's a great 1989 movie starring Shelley Long as a misfit camp guide who has her scouts earn their sewing badge by going on a shopping spree in Beverly Hills. That's more my style.

My topic this week is physical ability and why it is important for mental health. So we are going to study yoga and drink herbal teas (there's a lot of that around). So who knows, maybe we will be the Troop Beverly Hills of Phuket. Next week I think we are going to watch that movie...

I did girl scouts when I was a kid. I sewed a little daisy onto a baby blue sheet and got a patch. Thats about all I remember. That and the girl scout promise:

The Girl Scout Promise

On my honor, I will try:
To serve God and my country,
To help people at all times,
And to live by the Girl Scout Law.

If you are interested in knowing the other topics I'll be covering (some are pretty ridiculous) you can look at this link. It goes to the Girl Guides of Thailand activities page.

Thailand Girl Guide of Phuket Link

And no. I don't have to wear the uniform. And we don't sell cookies. But I do miss the mint cookies, if anyone wants to send me a box...

I've attached photos of my house so my friends and family can see where I'm sleeping...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My outdoor kitchenMy outdoor kitchen
My outdoor kitchen

If you think I didn't cook before....


13th November 2006

Dost my eyes deceive me???
Mushroom growing eh? You owe it to all of us back in the states to earn that merit badge. Don't let those pesky Red Feather's get the best of you.
13th November 2006

helpful hints for life
fish farming was another one of my favorites. That's something I can do back home.... And yes, I do remember the red feathers! Looks like we have another 80's movie fan.
27th November 2006

How do you know where north is?
Thats easy...its up! bring your compass missy, I know your sense of direction very well...or lack there of :)

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb