Ban Lut Daycare Center


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ban Nam Khem
November 20th 2005
Published: November 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ban Lut DaycareBan Lut DaycareBan Lut Daycare

New room funded by Duang Prateep Foundation (Thai Org) for tsunami victims.
Ban Lut is a newly constructed housing camp for displaced victims of the tsunami.

After doing some other tasks to get ready for the team to arrive to construct the playground at the Ban Nok Na school, I was called by the director of the Ban Muang refugee camp and asked if I would help them by driving a few people to the local market to pick up some supplies for the new daycare center being organized at the Ban Lut village camp.

Rotjana, the director of the camp, has started another daycare center in a one-room building where younger children can play and learn during the day while their parents are working and their siblings are in nearby schools.

The young girl (20 years old, actually) shown in the close-up photo was a bit of a flirt. That is sometimes the case when they come into contact with foreign men as they think perhaps you could be a ticket to a better life. I reminded her of my age and kindly told her that I could be her ‘papa’. She laughed in her school-girl style but kept her flirtatious demeanor. Its cute in one way, and sad
Refugee Camp VolunteerRefugee Camp VolunteerRefugee Camp Volunteer

Smiles for everyone!
in another. In any case, I’m not here to exploit young girls and can only help them by letting them know that I’m not interested. Unfortunately, the future may hold a different story for her when a foreign man takes advantage of her and makes her life more miserable than it may seem already.

I really enjoy visiting the refugee camp on a regular basis. The last trip there I brought with me 25 fresh roadside bought pineapples (at 25 cents each) and four watermelons. I also purchased a blender so they could make fresh juice for the kids. Later today I intend to pick up some simple concrete stepping stones to place in front of the covered play area so when they take off their shoes they aren’t doing it in the mud before entering (its customary to remove your shoes before entering homes, schools, temples and most other buildings).



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Open House CelebrationOpen House Celebration
Open House Celebration

I was invited to eat fresh steamed clams and a cold beer to celebrate the newly opened daycare. Beer? At a daycare?


30th December 2005

Post Tsunami Situation
Hi Johnny Moretti, I came across your journal while surfing around. Coincidentally, I am organising a Humanitarian Programme to Khao Lak in June 2006. Since you've visited Khao Lak, I thought you would be familiar with the situation there. The focus of the trip is - Children. We intend to teach them basic english and organize games and activities for them. I would like to find out from you firstly, the living conditions of the children and the daily necessities or aid they might require. Secondly, it would be great if you could provide us contact details of the NGOs you liaised with in Thailand. Lastly, any other information would also be helpful. I enjoy reading your Journal and look forward to your reply :) Yours Faithfully, Dawn Lee dawnleeyimin@gmail.cmo

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb