Sun, sea, sand and unbearable heat!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



UntitledDear Everybody,

Once again a massive hello from sunny, sunny, unbearably sunny (but also gorgeously so) Thailand!I am writing to you now from Ao Nang, a beautiful seaside town slightly blighted by the absolute load of English tourists (I can only imagine what it's like in peak season) but in which I can relax and chill out on the beach. Well, what with all the hard work and cultural sightseeing I've been doing I thoroughly deserve it!

I left you in Bangkok, and was just about able to escape the fun and festivities of Songran (Thai new year - the big splashy water festival) which incidentally I was able to do, but not without several thorough drenchings of most of my possessions - but c'est la vie! The train journey down to Khao Sok was by far the best overnighter I've done so far - all those thinking of travelling by train, think Thailand, and in the morning I awoke refreshed and raring to go. Of course, being an intrepid group we hitch the first jeep-like truck to take us properly into the jungle. I must say I was disappointed to find all the roads were perfectly even and safe - how are we supposed to feel properly intrepid amidst such luxury - it's disgusting! - but I still have the memories and bruises (only kidding) of Cambodia to keep me happy. Khao Sok jungle national park was totally incredible - from the moment we got there I was blown away. We stayed in two-storey jungle huts (we were on top - killer views, by the way) from which there was simply a panorama of beautiful tropical scenery and lush forest. The first morning I simply collapsed on our balcony (not literally) overcome with tiredness but also the absolute sublimity of it all. But I didn't allow myself to rest for long - come afternoon I was shooting rapids in the river with the group in an inner-tube! It was a great way to see the jungle and I would recommend it to absolutely everyone - just to look up and see a monkey in the branches above your head as you drift down one of the more serene parts - it was totally incredible. That night was a late one that has set the tone for the rest of the trip - people drinking a few too many cocktails and enjoying themselves! Fortunately, nonone has yet to develop alcohol poisoning and it's funny for me as a non-drinker to sit back, watch them and laugh! Actually the group has split into two distinct groups - the late-nighters, and those that really appreciate their beauty sleep. I pretty much straddle the group, which is a load of fun and as everyone's getting on really well it's great. But anyway - on with the great narrative!

Second day we spent at a beautiful lake in the national park. But as well as relaxing and eating delicious local food we took in a jungle trek, amazing boat cruise, floating on bamboo rafts and seeing a beautiful limestone cave. It was great, although my attempts to avoid going in the lake and hence to protect my wounds (from falling flat on my face before I left Vietnam) from loads of delightful parasites failed when some girl who shall remain unnamed (only kidding - her name is Hazel and we get on really well) decided it would be a greeat idea to board my canoe as I paddled around, fully clothed! Fortunately, three things were in my favour 1) I had cleverly left my camera back on the stilt houses we used as changing rooms 2) Thai money is coated in plastic and 3) I had brought the good old iodine for a quick, if painful attack on the parasites! Anyway, we had an awesome time and then headed back to the jungle houses for a delicious free barbeque the hosts threw in honour of our tour leader's birthday - does life get much better! (My God I had been craving European cake - oh well, it's my Birthday on the eighth of June (hint dropped - all take notice!)) Then in the morning we headed of at a not-too early start in minibusses to Krabi (and yes, the driver did insist on playing Westlife's Greatest Hits all the way there - it was torture!)

Krabi (or should I say Ao Nany, which is the nicer seaside town nearby where we're staying) is really beautiful, but it is also ABSOLUTELY SCORCHING! When we arrived on Wednesday, rather than relaxing on the beach at lunchtime I wandered around the town - and judging from the lobster-tans that some of our group returned with, I have to say I was totally justified! Unfortunately, this meant that there was non-one on Ao Nang's somewhat limited beach at 4pm when I wanted to go for a swim, but I easily solved this dilemma through quick-thinking and simply waded up to my waist, holding my t-shirt and beach bag on high as signs of my glorious victory. Oh well, we all need our little triumphs! Yesterday we all took a trip up to Phi Phi Island (where they filmed part of "The Beach") which was incredible for the white sands and glorious snorkelling. I also very much appreciated the irony of the beach on this island being filled with tourists on day -trips (it's a national park) as anyone whose ever seen that film will know the spiel of Leonardo Di Caprio's character at the beginning about escaping typical gapper's spots. Oh wel, it certainly was a stunning place (in spots) and thye speedboat trips around the islands were fun partially for the views but also for number of times we'd shoot off the water only to land with a great deal of force on the sea once again. Travel will feel so tame in England upon my return! I also, despite precautions, was able to get burned (on the hands, which is really harsh) but fortunately not too badly - some of the rest of the group seem to be going in search of skincancer! One girl I have total sympathy for - after getting badly stung by a jellyfish on wednesday, yesterday her swolen arm was burned a pleasant shade of beetroot - not of course boding well for a pleasant night's rest! Anyway, we all returned and then limped out in skimpy clothing, dying of the heat and our burns (actually, I was quite decently dressed - style AND I was thinking about the mosquitoes - canny, you see!). Everyone else had pizza (I had made the most of our free Thai lunch buffet and also was opposed on principal - I'm a local food pusher and proud! - and then out to a bar -another late night out! SHOCKING! Today I'm off to nearby white sands and beautiful scenery of Reilley Beach to sun, swim and have a great time! I'm thinking of all you guys particularly at school and Uni with exam preparation wearing you down. Don't think of me- trust me, it's too painful! Anyway, I hope everyone's OK, and I'll see you really soon!

Lots of love,

Richard

Advertisement



20th April 2007

Hi
Hi Richard, thanks for the postcard. Weather in the UK is great, sure we'll all be getting as burned as you soon. I'm just about done with my dissertation - on to exams next. Enjoy the beach! Chris

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb