Alone Lady In Phitsanulok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Northern Thailand » Phitsanulok
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Phitsanulok, about 377 kms or 4 1/2 hour train ride north of Bangkok. I caught a taxi with little problem and arrived at the train station hoping I would be able to buy a ticket. Yes! Time for coffee and a bun for my tummy. The trip went smoothly, although I sat beside a heavy set young Thai who consequently went to sleep and snored loudly! If only I could fall asleep so easily ... the mattresses are made from stuffed coconut husks and are very very firm. I have found that if I blow up my air mattress about 1/3, it's just enough to add some cushion for my sore hips.
Once in Phitsanulok, I walked directly to Bon Bon Guest House (thanks to my Lonely Planet Guide.) It was just as the guide said: clean, quiet and reasonable. At 350 Baht or approx. $11 CD, it's very very reasonable. I even have TV with CNN and my first hot shower since arriving in Thailand! Who would have thought a hot shower would give such a pleasure.
This morning, I woke up with a migraine, the first one here. I think it was because of the yogurt I bought yesterday: the script was all in Thai and I suspect there was some aspartame or artificial sweetener it in .... a big NO NO for me. Live and learn ...
I walked along the river Mae Nom Nan - fairly fast flowing but very muddy water - until I found a tree to sit under and catch up with journal writing. Some interesting experiences today: walking along the business street, I came upon a card/paper shop and stopped short when I saw a stand with lots of red cards displayed. Happy Valentine's Day! Yes, most in English but a few in Thai script with images of the Buddha. The English cards were very intricate and turned into mobiles. (cost 42 Baht) Unfortunately, or fortunately if that's where you are at right now (!), I have no sweetie to send one to. But as I keep saying, that's temporary, ha ha.
Since I left D. yesterday morning at the guest house in Bangkok, I have had many many Thai people ask me if I am travelling alone. I smile and say 'no. I am with my brother.' I found this in the past and that, along with the fact that I have no one to share my experience with, makes for some lonesome times.
Late this morning, I went to a famous wat (temple) called Wat Phra Si Ratana Mahathat where there is a large bronze image of Buddha. It is supposed to be second in importance to the one at the Wat Phra Kaew in Bangkok. I was surprised to see lots of kiosks selling food, trinkets, images of the Buddha, photos of the Royal Family, etc. Even several men standing with super cameras at the entrance of the wat: the idea that you can pay to have your photo taken posing in front of the large Buddha statue.
At the moment, I am sitting in an internet cafe along with several young Thai men who are playing internet games. They seem very 'zoned out' so maybe this is the 'drug' of choice. There is a TV blasting with a DVD and the owner of the cafe and his wife are watching it!
Earlier today, I passed a school where there were several small groups outside. The girls called out to me 'hello' and the bravest one asked me where I was from. I stopped and talked for a few minutes and all the time, the young girls were giggling and smiling. As they say, a smile goes a long way here in Thailand. It was lots of fun chatting and when I left, they all waved and repeatedly said 'bye bye'.
Well, my time is up and my tummy in growling for lunch because it is mid-afternoon!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb