January 10th — Day Five


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand
January 10th 2018
Published: January 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Well Tomorrow morning will be about one week since we left D.C. but it feels like I have been here much longer. 1: Because I already feel so close to my bodies. 2: Because our days are so packed I feel absolutely exhausted. I woke up with horrible allergies today which is such a bummer because I love Thailand, but I’m not sure I would ever be able to live here for a long period of time because well I seem to be allergic to everything! My nose is twice the size. I feel drowsy without medication. My eyes are burning and itching non-stop. I hope that the air-conditioning in our room (which we finally figured out the right setting) will help and maybe some Benedryll. Fortunately, I was given the opportunity to be in the OR this morning since it has air-conditioning — a relief for my allergies. I watched a laminectomy after much confusion over where we should go and what the rules were for observation. The OR was much more westernized than I had anticipated given the rest of the hospital. Sterile fields were maintained and modern technologies were used. The main difference was the foot attire: flip-flops, crocs, and the occasional barefoot surgeon. The surgeons and nurse did a phenomenal job at cauterizing and suction the blood, so I guess the barefoot-style was not really an issue. I mean the floor is dirty after all. It’s not really breaking the sterile field. It made me smile that despite modernization, they were able to hold onto the respectful tradition of taking off shoes inside.



After lunch, we were able to observe, participate, and explore the traditional medicine unit in the hospital. I found it extremely interesting, and the ten minute thai massage example was definitely a plus. We asked the acupuncture doctor many questions like a Q&A session. We also observed him performing acupuncture on several patients as well as one of my fellow students. Holistic, traditional medicine has always been of interest to me since it often produces positive results in friends and family that were unable to find relief in pharmacologic measures. Today, I was reminded of its roots in Buddhist roots. Again I am realizing that I am running into a similar theme of aligning very much with the Buddhist culture despite my Christian beliefs, so applicably what does this mean for my life? I would like to carry over values in meditation and holistic, tradition medicine back to the states with me by continuing to seek these kinds of care. I also would like to take some classes about these procedures in order to maybe practice them and incorporate them into care, even for those with a Christian faith background.





Overall, today was really good despite my health, but you can’t win them all. I enjoyed my time with the other girls on this trip as well which was a total blessing. Professor Debbie continues to give me hope as she explains her heart and her desires for the nursing field and nursing education, especially after my rough experiences this past semester with Messiah’s Nursing program. God really has shown His hand over this trip, instilling hope and providing renewal. I am so grateful. Well good bye for now. It’ll soon be time to wake up and measures some more medications and …urine?! :P

Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb