My Friend Phon...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
February 21st 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I was out on my way too the ruins in Sukkhothai and this Thai dude, probably in his thrities started chatting me and teaching me some Thai. then told me he might see me at the ruins. on the way to Sukhothai the bus picked up a lady with many vegetables she was transporting to market because that's just how things work here in anything goes Thailand. when we got to the bus stop I helped her unload the vegetables, Phon saw this was was impressed a farang(foreigner) would be so kind. So he became my guide, sneaking me into all the ruins (it only saved me 10 dollars but it was fun sneaking around none the less) and teaching me Thai. apparently he does this every weekend for a chance to learn some English, which is what he was studying back at the local university. He showed me his several hundred page report and pictures of his days as a monk and in the university and a solider in the Thai army. all the while teaching me Thai, introducing me to local foods, several monks, some cute Thai chicks at a salon and paid to have my head washed and massaged. Phon was a very intelligent individual talking about everything from the aids pandemic in Thailand to Buddhism to why he thought divorce is so prevalent in Thailand. He brought me to his place of work the local malaria clinic and showed me around. this is where things started to get weird. he started making crude jokes about my 'big farang penile', 'eating my penile' and dvd sex. so what? I make crude jokes back at home all the time. then he started slapping my ass and got very pouty telling me he was sorry he was making me boring, serious and not happy when I got wierded out and told him I was going back to my hotel. It was like a bad breakup. after I got back I started to wish I made the clean break. I got an email from him telling me that he missed me and he didn't know why. I seriously doubt he would have hurt me, he was a very nice man. but I do think he was a latent homosexual and slightly self loathing
Now I may have him all wrong, it might just have been the cultural disconnect that made me assume he was harmless or gay. Either way he was an incredible individual and it made for a day I won't soon forget.
(Have pics on my space, I'll have some up here tomorrow, promise!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

700 year old ruins
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Toilets don't have toilet paper, they have hoses...


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb