Sukothai Historical Park, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
September 1st 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sa-Wat-Dee Karp!!!!.....

SUKOTHAI - Rising Happiness!!!

....I arrived to Sukothai Sunday afternoon after a long trip by bus from Nong-Khai at the border to Kon Kaen (4 hrs), then took another bus to Phitsanulok (6 hrs), where i spent the night by mistake, the next morning i continued my way to finally arrive here....

....I woke up very early in the morning, caught a public Sawngthaew (Truck with two benches on the side and one in the middle) to Sukothai historical park about 12 km, i rented a bike 30 bath = $0.87 and decided to go exploring....It was an amazing trip stopping at different Wats and discovering many well preserved ruins.

....Sukothai was the original capital of the first Thai kingdom, the park has 21 historical sites within the old walls plus 70 sites just outside the walls. They are divided in 5 different zones, each with different prices, i opted for paying the 150 baht = $4 hich allowed me to ride all over the place from 8am to 4pm....Ohhhhh this is changing, they are going to set up a new price for foreigners starting in October, entrance to all sites will cost 350 baht = $10 (big difference, two nights sleep at a dorm in a guesthouse....No no can't do ;-)

....I spent the entire day walking & bicycling around (i can't believe it but i got a sunburn), i even dared to get adventurous and go inside the forest in the outside part of the park, just to find an amazing 20 minute ride through hidden trails.....This place has definetely an incredible energy, i got chills all over my body while visiting some of this wonderful ruins, luckily there was pretty much no one visiting the park on monday....

ON A PERSONAL NOTE.....

....I feel i am over with visiting & traveling around for a while, i would like settling down for a litte bit and do some work inside and outside. I came to Sukothai while waiting for my application to be accepted for the Vipassana Meditation retreat, hopefully, this will become a reality sooner or later....I have also been in contact with couple of organic farms in Pai, North Thailand so i hope to be able to head up north after the meditation retreat & put my hands to work.....

....I have experienced all kinds of emotions during these first weeks in Asia, every day is a constant battle against many fears, i have faced deepest loneliness but never dispair. I have felt justice and unjustice, happiness & sadness, great enthusiasm and total lack of energy....everytime i try to stop and really understand what is going on inside my head and my body, i can't say it's been an easy ride but i do believe everything works for the best and this traveling experience is opening up many inside paths and allowing me to move to a better self-understanding....

....Always sending lots of love and wishing happinness & many blessings to all of you, my dearest friends :-)

Lah gorn,
Andres






Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd September 2008

La Patrona se reporta!
Eaaaaa! Pero de la reconcha que te parióo, QUE VIAJE TE ESTÁS PEGANDOO! Lo amo!!, en todas sus intensidades. Me alegro TANTO por vos; todo este aprendizaje, la experiencias...el verse a uno mismo, a los otros...a todos siendo un todo...a yo siendo una parte del todo! Esta vida que nos encanta, que nos tira de arriba para abajo con todo su cuchi cuchi; que le pone candela y mivimiento a nuestro cuerpo...Patrona te ama con todo su corazón, y está muuuuuy orgullosa de su Cachorro.la verdad es admirable y muy lindo verte crecer al ritmo de este viaje.Te extraño mucho y espero que sigás teniendo más de esas lindas experiencias. Cuidate mucho! Te ama, La Patro
2nd September 2008

Lonliness
Sorry to hear you've had some moments... I am sure you're journies are tough sometimes. When I have travelled by myself, I definitely felt that way -- and I was only gone for a few weeks. I CANT even IMAGINE months! But even in big cities, with many crowds, co-workers, 'friends', acquaintences, in crowded rooms, you can still be lonely. Love from New York City! wink.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb