First time on a bike in years


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
November 7th 2005
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Since I was 14 actually. And in a few days, I'll be as good as living on a bike for two weeks. Christ!

After gawking at the long-neck people, I caught a bus the following day south to Sukhothai - Thailand's first kingdom, captured from the Khmers. Arrived there at late afternoon and met a scratchy looking Austrian man - an eternal traveller, who, when I questioned him about his travels in Australia (and you'll love this Leader guys), he said he stayed with an Aunt in ENGADINE! I'm was too used to ubiquity of everything Sutherland Shire to even be surprised.
Had dinner with this bloke and invited over a German couple when they passed the restaurant. They were gorgeous, but, like my Filipino friends on day one in Bangkok, they spoke in their native tongue and I just laughed when they did - it made me feel included! Kinda figured what dirty old Austrian man was talking about when he motioned his hands in the shape of an hourglass and pursed his lips!

Next day I rented a bike and rode around Sukhothai Old City, which was a block of brick wall and temple remnants from the 13th Century. Funny story: I'd stopped at a site to take photos where a local fella tried to flog me postcards. I rejected them then somehwere in our exchange, with not a common word spoken, he had volunteered himself as my guide. He raced ahead of me on his bike and beckoned me to follow him around corners and up roads to some of the landmarks. He was nice enough, but knowing he only wanted my money, I tried desperately hard to shake him off. As he raced ahead at one stage, I stopped in my tracks and hid by a tree. That was the last I saw of him.
So, needing no more than 2 hours in this place, I found a local bus to take me to the New City bus terminal and jumped on a bus to Bangkok. What was supposed to take 6 hours took 9. Bus driver just stopped when he was hungry or had a friend to say hello to in the towns we passed through.

Found a cheap room near Khaosan and marvelled at the lights, the sounds, the people. What a crazy place!
After getting lost several times the next morning (there's a freakin' 7elevn on every corner), I found the Irish girls, who coincidentally were staying just down the road and hit MBK - a massive shopping centre in Bangkok with them.At this stage I learned something about the taxi and tuk tuk system. Unless you get a government vehicle (which are very few and far between), you'll get a very cheap ride providing you make stops before your destination to a temple, jewellery store, tailor etc, as the drivers get petrol vouchers if you stay in the store for at least 10 minutes. If you buy something, the driver gets more petrol money and will take you anywhere you want for free! We implored out driver we wanted one stop only and it would be a jewellery store. We weren't quite 10 mins before we walked out and our driver brazenly drove towards us, then right out the gate. He was kind enough to wave, though. So, we search for another taxi and got to MBK where the girls got their hair done while I checked out the mall - all 7 floors of it. This place was MASSIVE and the crowds a pain to negotiate.
Anyhow, four hours later, after many dramas between the girls and their hairdressers, we were out of there and back to the lights of Khaosan. Not for long, though. I had convinced the girls to come with me to red-light district, Pathpong for some ping-pong balls and razor blades. Yes, the sex shows.
We entered a seedy joint and watched 40-something women with caesar scars and cellulite blow out birthday candles, shoot darts and pop balloons and pull out endless lengths of string with razor blades attached to it. No, not from their mouths. I was intrigued and could have sat there all night, but the poor Irish girls were disgusted, and so we cut short our visit. At least I can say I'd been!
I'll leave it there for another groupie, guys.
Thanks for all of your emails, too. I'm feeling a little homesick at times, really missing my family, friends and workmates, but hearing from you makes me smile - cheers.
Oceans of love,
Bec/Clarky




Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb