Lahu Soul Calling Ceremony


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Soppong
November 28th 2015
Published: December 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

In Huai Hea, about an hour or so north from Soppong. This is a village where John used to live. They were doing this ceremony for Nah-lor who has had 4 operations and bits taken from her brain. This is the Lahu trying to bring one of her souls back into her body to heal her. No pictures of the actual ceremony, but hopefully it will be shown on the BBC next year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Hungry WorkHungry Work
Hungry Work

Papa eating after a hard morning's filming. This was the first of 2 pigs to be killed for the ceremony, so plenty of pork to eat this weekend!
New friendsNew friends
New friends

These guys looked after me and showed me around their village. The boy on the left climbed some trees and picked me some fresh guavas, the boy on the right took me to see his puppies, and then I bought some sweets for us all. A lesson in not littering followed.
My guavas and the viewMy guavas and the view
My guavas and the view

My scrumped guavas and the view the people in the village live with. I asked and they do all appreciate it.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb