Pairadise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
July 23rd 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Pai HookahThe Pai HookahThe Pai Hookah

This was a very sickly sweet strawberry tobcacco
Daniel has a small tobacco tin that he carries around Auckland with him. It has a painted blue background with a little figure on it and the words that read 'Pai is Beautiful'. He's found it serves as a useful converstaion piece at the busy backpackers where he works, drawing comments such as 'oh, so you've been to Pai...' or 'so who is this Pai chick anyways?' A great way to meet people he tells me.

Although I've been to Pai before, in fact, because I've been to Pai before, I wanted to return. I was there at Christmas time when the days are hot and nights are freezing and the morning is covered in mist. I only had one clear day this time but the thunder and lightening and monsoon rain was beautiful just the same. It let up enough for me to wander around and see as much as I could in those few days.

I was lucky enough to be travelling in low tourist (farang) season, and although I did meet a few farang, I had the best time touring the valley with Tutu - one of the Thai girls who works at Villa De Pai
One of those wind thingsOne of those wind thingsOne of those wind things

I can't remember what they're called!
where I stayed. She was new to Pai herself and had a rare morning off so we took the opportunity to see the area and do some photography. It was a relief to be on a motorbike after the previous day's bicycle ride that had left me completely exhaused.

Those that experience Pai are very relucant to leave. I met a guy there who'd planned on a few days and had been there 3 weeks and counting. Another for over a year. And although I didn't want to go either, there was much more Thailand exploration to be done. But it can be concluded that I don't need a tobacco tin to know that Pai is beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Rest StopRest Stop
Rest Stop

Stopping to enjoy the scenery
The Road AheadThe Road Ahead
The Road Ahead

I rode to the hot springs which is about 8 km out of town but I had not anticipated all the hills along the way
Spider in the treesSpider in the trees
Spider in the trees

This guy was so huge that he'd spun a web between two big trees.
Hot Spring RipplesHot Spring Ripples
Hot Spring Ripples

There was a sign next to this saying it was 80 C. It didn't have quite the Rotorua bubbling mud and gas excitement, and the 200B entry fee was not really worth it but it was nice to relax and just enjoy nature
View from the bungalowView from the bungalow
View from the bungalow

At Villa de Pai


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 107; dbt: 0.0944s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb