Hippyville


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nice RideNice RideNice Ride

This was on a trail up to a waterfall.
I left Chiang Mai, there was just nothing left to do there....apart from thai boxing but I'll go back to try that out in a while. Songkran, the water festival, was the coolest thing I've ever seen happen in the streets anywhere. The first official day of the holiday, I took a cruise around the inner city moat (nothing like a moat full of water for the festival) in the back of a pickup truck. I went with the lady (who I found out is a ladyboy) that ran the guesthouse, a bunch of her friends, a dude from california and a german woman. The truck was packed and everyone was drinking whiskey and dancing. It was absolutely nuts. There were thousands of vehicles jammed in the streets around the moat and people running all over. Trucks would drive by with huge barrels of ice water and throw buckets on you. I got myself a bucket with a rope tied to it so I could get buckets of moat water and whip it at people. Somehow it was funny every time, kind of like farting.
It was amazing to see so many drunk people in the streets and nobody getting hurt.
SlideSlideSlide

These kids were sliding down the rocks into the pool at the bottom...ouch!
At least the traffic was barely moving so it wasn't a danger. It actually took us like 4 hours to get halfway around the moat. I remember last summer when Weyburn had its "street party". The party was in the beer gardens which was a roped off empty lot. Wow, lots of fun. They really took that party to the streets.
I was looking out at the thousands of people in Chiang Mai in the streets dancing, drinking, laughing and getting soaked and I was kinda sad that when I come home there will be nothing like this. For our new year (or any holiday) we get one day. That's just enough to go out and get drunk and have a day to recover before you go back to work. You rarely see someone back home just close up their shop for 3 or 4 days just to let loose.
So the jungle trek I did was great, but now I have to say the best thing I did in Thailand was get right into the Sonkran festival. Unfortunatley I was literally soaked to the bone for the whole thing so I didn't get any pictures. I was going to
Pai CanyonPai CanyonPai Canyon

I rode a motorbike up to this canyon and walked along the canyon walls. It was amazing. Pictures just don't do it justice.
put my camera in a ziploc bag and try to get some pitures, but you know I'm a bit nervous about cameras so I didn't bother.
Now I'm in a town called Pai, in the northwest. It's really relaxed, kinda a hippie town. Today I'm renting a motorkbike and going to check out a waterfall and whatever else is out there. It's so hot right now! Time for a swim.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Cave DwellersCave Dwellers
Cave Dwellers

Me and a friend from England I met on the way to Pai.
Watch your stepWatch your step
Watch your step

Pai Canyon


21st April 2006

Seriously I wish I wasn't in school
I wish I weren't in school, cuz then I would come and travel with you:P sigh but I am here and in school!!! Whoo hoo I'll be on the same side of the world as you in 20 days! mmm baguettes.
21st April 2006

Yipes
Living vicariously through you now. Canada is cold. Keep it real on the flip side

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0903s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb