Passing the Ganja in Pai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Pai
October 31st 2013
Published: April 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post





I took a 3 day trip to a quaint little city north of Chiang Mai called Pai. Pai is a small gem tucked amongst mountainous region of the Thailand-Myanmar boarder. This small town has become a tourist hot spot over the years. It caters more to the Rasta and Hippie crowd, but there is something to do for everyone. Trekking, meditation, bathing in the hot spring and more. Its amazing to see the Jamaican culture has made its way across the ocean and influenced the natives. It feels as though I was in Santa Monica or Ocean Beach, CA. Very laid back, but also very touristy. I was overwhelmed after a three nights stay. I'm happy to be back in Chiang Mai.

The Rasta movement is strong in Pai.

Against my better judgement, I decided to walk to a waterfall 14km away from SpicyPai. I took me a whole day for the round trip, but it was memorable. Upon arriving at the waterfall, I found some fellow travelers having some fun.

Haha! Oh Pai...

While waiting for my ride back to Chiang Mai I started chopping it up with this Canadian dude named Stefan. I thought he was a real dude, so we decided to hangout once we get back to Chiang Mai. Back in Chiang Mai we would email each other and meet up for dinner. Stefan is a good dude.




"Maybe its me. Maybe that Dutch girl was right. I do become attach to people and places easily. Like taking the conversations with Zane as something of a brotherly bond. Once again I've fallen into this hole again...I don't want to become cold blooded or emotionally frigid, but its hard to comprehend whether someone is genuine or not. Its a life lesson that I'm continuing to learn. I dunno. I guess it is what it is. I have friends. Soul brothers. That is not why I am here. I don't want to become jaded, but I'm tired of trying and putting myself out there. Maybe I'm just not ready for this world. Its all good though."
Journal Entry: 10.29.2013

"It is getting difficult everyday as I proceed. I feel a disconnection between fellow travelers. I guess I had expected too much from people I don't know. Going home is not an option because this feeling is what led me to travel...I will adapt, As I'd always done. I've never felt so lonely in my life...but this feeling is no different than the feeling I that I felt at home...."
Journal Entry: 10.30.13


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Stray DogStray Dog
Stray Dog

I've been seeing a lot of these dogs with saggy tits. It is apparent that these dogs have been ran through by a train of male dogs. It is unfortunate that they are not fix. (This dog is not dead, only asleep)


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb