You can't step in the same river twice


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
June 28th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Let's start with some basic facts:

- I haven't showered in 3 days. you guys might be thinking- nbd kathleen you go weeks without showering.. true but picture this: Thailand for the past week has been roughly 30 degrees plus an average humidity percentage of 74... if it is not raining, it is misting, and mind you our road has been flooded for two days... I am also biking 15 minutes to school and back.

-Fact number 2: i washed my clothes last thursday, it has now been roughly a week and half of what I hung up to dry.. is still wet.

- moskitos are literally 10 times faster here than in Canada, so getting bitten is inevitable

-you guys probably don't want to hear this but you should know that since I have been here, I have only had 2 normal stools...YACK



here are som more fun things about my day:
- fell off my bike today..twice

- broke my sandals.. actually an infant broke my ONLY pair of flip flops... this was right after I broke the poncho that I just bought.. like 4 hours earlier.

- Bought a camera but don't feel bad about spending so much money because I don't know how to properly convert money currencies hahaha..seriously though i don't feel bad. maybe gin dawg will pitch...?

- I had a GREAT day.

Not going to lie blog stalkers, the trip so far for me has been very up and down. I have been happy but I have also been very sad with all the realisations that have started to set in:
- i am here for 6 months
- i am in a small house sharing a room and therefor do not get a lot of alone time
- I don't understand like anything that is goign on half the time because of the language barriers
- some of the kids I work with legitimately don't know what I am asking when I say " How are you?" so I go home feelling very useless quite often
- missing the family, friends and boyfriend a lot yeah know.. classic

The point is, even though it's only been a week here, Ive been questioning the person that I am a lot, wodnering if i am actually cut out to do this.
The girls here, have been really kind and helped me realize that obvioulsy it is not going to be easy but that that is part of the growing experience ( that is exactly what I was looking for to begin with )

I've been getting a lot of updates recently, so that you for those who keep me posted and thatnk you for those who leave me comments or messages.

Good news is that like I said I bought a camera so I will upload some pictures as soon as I can. Any recommendations of what you want to see?

The head master and mistress at my main school got in a motorcycle accident yesterday.. you know the ones that don't have funding and can't afford like anything.. does anyone know of any NGO's or whatever that are into funding great causes? Because these people are amazing and put everything aside for their students.

I am going to shower.

kathy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb