Chang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Sot
July 2nd 2011
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Good news is, i've been exercising a bit. On Wednesday I accidentally played a full soccer game with some pretty serious woman here in thailand.
Yes you read that correctly accidentally.. I was peer pressured into playing. I only went to the field to give our neighbor moral support and meet some sweet environmental activists ( heard through the grapevine they would be there)
Unfortunately they were short of players so with me there were 5 girls on each team.. even though I shot gunned being d fence, i was soon told that there IS no position, everyone plays everywhere.
SO after 5 minutes of playing in 96 percent humidity I was ready to die, because it has been almost 9 years since I even touched a soccer ball.
It did get better though, the reality of the situation is simply that I am out of shape. and then you will never believe this BUT i scored a goal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
WOOOOOO
then it got bad again because second half came, I could barely run and could only think about barfing, when this dinosaur powered kick ramshackled my esophagus so hard that i stop breathing.. physically could not do it.

Some terrible
trying to meet westernerstrying to meet westernerstrying to meet westerners

Most of the vols, except jay Jay who is the burmese lady on the left. Our neighbor who is sooo cool and very beautiful ad funny :)
news... I went to school on like tuesday maybe wednesday and the headmasters daughters head was shaved which is really uncommon for girls to do here and when I asked why her mother said ( also the headmistress and incredibly inspirational woman) she said " she have little lice, so we chop hair"
Lice is going around my school.. magical. I have never had them and am hoping i won't get them here either..

I also just found out that a mouse is living in my room back at home...since when did Carl my greasy land lord from Quebec move to shitville? What is wrong with this place?

For Canadas day i tried to do like an event day for my one school, so i brought them Canada day super lame prizes like buttons and flags; i brought them crosswords and let them colour and gave them all doughnuts. So they went out at lunch time and bought me a bear. he is very cute, small and white and they named him Sweetie.
We then went outside and played hot potatoe to them singing english songs. The loser had to dance in the middle of the circle for
some studentssome studentssome students

maybe this will give you an idea of school, this is my classroom. the students all sit on the ground with benches that become tables for lunch. I teach in the front
ten seconds, and they planned in burmese to make me lose and made me danse for a minute..
if any of you have ever seen my danse moves you would understand why they were laughing.. add a troll bun and sum rat tails, to a shirt soaked in sweat hahaha.

Tonight all the vols went out to this great restaurant, good food and good live music. There were burmese men singing the beatles, bob dilan, the song jumper who ever sings that.. with accoustic. It was incredible.

Hope all you Canadians or want to be Canadians had a wonderful day yesterday..today..whenever it is/was.

anyway, i am going to read. chill, skype. miss people, write letters, think about lesson planning, dream about people and plans and life and hope that things get better for people who live in unstable worlds..

kathy


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sweetie Sweetie
Sweetie

this is the bear my students bought me, and this is a picture one student named Aung Pi took.
les garsles gars
les gars

These are some of the boys in my class, Aung Pi is on the right, he is very loud like me. The other two boys are pretty quiet and pretty shy
les fillesles filles
les filles

These are some of the girls, who don't really like taking pictures at all, but I didn;t take them.. Aung Pi did :)


Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb