What is a mahout anyway?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
May 21st 2006
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Two MahoutsThe Two MahoutsThe Two Mahouts

Elephant riding!
Rebecca and I had a short stay in the Anantara resort, close to Chiang Rai, in the Golden Triangle May 17-21. Luckily for us, we had a window of 4 days of good weather, and took advantage of this to participate in the elephant training course that they offer at this splendid resort. But be warned, you have to be prepared to get hot, dirty and sore! If you get saddle-sore from riding a horse, then you can imagine what bareback riding on an elephant is like! My legs were stretched apart for hours, so that when I got off, I couldn't walk upright for a while! Riding the elephants into the river was the most fun, although with a fast current, the brown water didn't look too attractive. My elephant totally submerged, with just the tip of the trunk showing like a snorkel. Needless to say, I got very wet! The whole program is a worthwhile cause to rescue elephants that are being abused in the big cities, and I congratulate the Anantara Resort on its accomplishments. Definitely worth a visit: the rooms are excellent, the spa is great (good to get a massage after riding an elephant, I can assure you!), and the food is very good. Now we are off to Koh Samui for a more relaxed portion of our vacation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb