Chiang Mai in a rush


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 16th 2014
Published: November 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Fanciest Bidet EverFanciest Bidet EverFanciest Bidet Ever

Maya mall bathroom
This trip feels like a teaser of what an extended trip could really be. One month may be long in American standards, but its barely enough time to settle into a place long enough to not just be a tourist. We are basically moving places each week and it seems like Ive been making lists of the stuff I want to do and never getting around to doing them (which I suppose is similar to my everyday world). Amidst all the stuff I HAVE done, I have not visited a tailor for a custom made dress, gone to the dentist for $15, eaten durian fruit, visited temples, monk chat, yoga, only had 1 Thai massage... The to do lists I subject myself to!!

Long term travel (1 month does count as long term in this case) means I need to relax. I can't be filling every day with adventures or I will burn out. Even at the pace I've been going, which for me is slow, I've gone to bed exhausted each night. It's a good thing, yes?

Last night we went to a Couchsurfing meet up just outside Old City. I met lots of people who have been
Cooking ClassCooking ClassCooking Class

Totally catered for a vegan diet.
or will be traveling for months. Why not me? Seriously, what is my excuse? On a similar note, everyone really does do online marketing. I still don't understand what that means, but I need to try it. Either that or they teach or are traveling in savings til they run out and they will go back to school. Basically, they want to do it so they so it.

I've done a pretty poor job with this blog, but that's okay. I spend more time sitting in silence and observing than staring at my iPhone screen. In fact, the hostel we are at now doesn't have functioning wifi (pronounced wee fee everyone except USA) so I NEED to go sit at a cafe to connect. The Internet has made so much possible. I am across the world and can still talk in real time to family and friends, share photos without needing to go to an Internet cafe, and google map directions and reviews. Small world means bigger travels!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb