A quick hello from Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 14th 2013
Published: August 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ping Nakara Ping Nakara Ping Nakara

The kid's palatial room
We've arrived in Chiang Mai in northern Thailand after a short one hour flight north from Bangkok. While we haven't explored yet, it's clear that this is a far smaller and slower place than Bangkok and I can already feel my pulse falling. I think I'm going to like this town.

Our hotel is described as a boutique hotel. That word, boutique, has become so commonplace that I'm not sure what it means anymore but I know that I like this place a lot more than the modern tower that was our hotel in Bangkok. This place, the Ping Nakara, is fairly new but built in an old colonial style. Three floors and just 19 rooms. Dinner tonight was in a tiny restaurant by the pool. Nice food, washed down by a couple of local Chang beers. Nice!

It seems last night's music quiz was too tough for you! One Night in Bangkok was a global hit in 1985 for Murray Head.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb