Three blessings in one day.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
September 14th 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wat Suan DokWat Suan DokWat Suan Dok

1370 - royal crematorium
Today is our last day here, and in Thailand itself, so it was back to the temples. One thing, we did learn was that the levee broke in Sukhothai a couple of days after we left. The ruins weren't flooded but our hotel was on an overflow canal so we were all thinking about them and the nice people we met there.

We first stopped at the crematorium of the Royal Family of Chiang Mai. Called Wat Suan Dok, it was laid out in 1370 from a royal garden. Everybody can be cremated there for free except cost of coffin. Temple will pay that if the family can't. We saw one man's coffin in a place for flowers and people to gather, like an open air funeral home. Our guide said this man had died 3 days earlier and was being cremated the next day.

Moving on, we then traveled 5000 ft up the mountain to Wat Phrathad Doi Suthep, built in 1384. Legend says a white elephant carried the relics of Lord Buddha up the mountain on his head and stood on a particular spot at the top for 24 hours straight. A solid copper plated chedi is said to have the relic of Buddha, a shoulder bone, buried underneath. There are 290 steps up to the temple (we took the cable car) and all Buddists in Chiang Mai must walk up those steps at least once.

As respect we walked around the chedi once with a lotus blossom and then placed it at the prayer corner. Buddists walk 3 times around saying prayers. I also lit a candle. This was supposed to provide me a blessing.

We went to find the Monk that was giving blessings that day. Several of us went inside the same temple around the chedi and knelt, which is hard for me these days, while the Monk said prayers and threw water on us as a blessing. We then got to walk on our knees to receive a string blessed by the Monk. But the Monk himself could only tie the string on the wrists of men. Since monks can't touch women we had to the Monk's right and receive our string by an assistant, but the Monk had blessed the string earlier. Our guide said we should not take it off for three days and then do not cut it
Wat Suan DokWat Suan DokWat Suan Dok

Chiang Mai Royal Family remains here
but untie and keep it to keep the blessing.

I found Ernest over at a table along the edge of the temple where Monks were selling things to support the temple. He bought me a necklace with a jade circle and a Chinese character inside but don't know what it means yet. Have to ask my sister-in-law. The Monk ask me to stand in front of him while he held the necklace and said a prayer. He had to drop the necklace in my hand (no touching).

So, all in all, I got 3 blessings that morning. I need all the help I can get. Buying lotto tickets when I get home!

Of course, no excursion is complete without some trip to a factory and we were so fortunate 😊 that a jade factory was just a few short steps down from the temple. but the guide had said this place had blue jade from Myannmar. I'd never seen blue jade so I was looking forward to going here. I did learn Chinese jade is not as good quality as the Myannmar jade, which is mostly what this place carried. They had all the colors of jade I'd seen before so I headed to one of the blue jade cases. It's a light blue and very pretty. I didn't know that Ernest was over at the other counter buying me a blue jade ring. I guess he is a keeper.

That night was the farewell dinner for Thailand. I chose not to go but Ernest went. It was a dinner in a Thai family home. So they learned to make 5 minute curry. After dinner they released paper lanterns. You make a wish when you release the lantern and as it floats up, everything bad or negative in your life floats away with the lanterns. I kind of like that idea.

As we leave Thailand, I have to say this is one of the best trips I've ever taken and there is still more to come in Cambodia. There was so much to do, so many interesting things to see and so many massages to get. I see why people come back multiple times. The people are so nice and friendly and are very appreciative of your doing business with the. They do drive on the left which surprised me, I didn't know that. I've got some great memories and stories from trip and am so glad I came.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Thailand taxiThailand taxi
Thailand taxi

benches in back of truck


Tot: 0.38s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb