Chiang Mai Photos


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 20th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I cannot tell you how many times I have tried to write this. The computer here kept crashing and it won't let me upload photos from my iPod so I'll try at the next hostel. I've managed to upload the ones from my camera though.

Yesterday was my last day at deejai backpacker. I left early morning and headed to the zoo. It's on the outskirts of the city and cost only 40baht to get there by songethaw.

The zoo issuer within large grounds and the animals are in large open enclosures. I saw everything from elephant to giant panda. One thing that did surprise me was the lack of foreign tourists, the majority were Thai. Plus on the shuttle bus that takes you round the park, the commentary was in Thai.

In the evening, after meeting a lad from the Netherlands who just arrived we headed out to the night market. The Sunday night market of tha phae is known to be one of the best & it did not fail to impress! School theatrical performances lined the street, a whole square of streets are closed off to vehicles and stall upon stall of food, clothes etc




I tried Thai dumplings for tea, which were lovely, along with a dragon fruit smoothie. Mmm

Arriving back at the hostel, a new roomie arrived, a lady from Paris who is a secondary school english teacher.

After breakfast this morning I packed up & checked out. I headed across the city by tuk tuk to Eco resort (a little moreexpensive at around £6 pn for a 2 share room) but well worth it. It's set in lush grounds, with a pond and fruit trees and has an Olympic sized swimming pool, this is to be 3 days of relaxation.

Tomorrow I have booked on a day tour, I will visit a local tribal village, ride and elephant in the jungle, white water raft andbam boo raft, I can't wait! Pick up is 08.45.

I had chicken fried rice here for lunch and am about to go for tea. Buffet breakfast is included, so looking forward to that tomorrow too!



Love to all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb