You know where you are? You're in the jungle baby...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 31st 2010
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Suzanne here...

We've settled in Chiang Mai ok. On the way here we saw a coach the same as ours smashed up by the side of the road. I think it was a night bus, we'd already decided not to take them as we've heard they are dangerous. I'm very glad now.

The guesthouse (TK guesthouse) is basic but clean, and a bargain at 200THB per night. They are friendly and also offer cheap tours and onward travel. I've recovered from my tonsillitis. Even the wound on my foot is looking less icky. We treated ourselves to the fish spa again. After trying to explain that I had a manky foot, in the end I just had to show the girls at the spa. Neither of them looked like they were going to faint, which I took to be a good sign. The did give me a plaster for it, but after a while it floated off. It did hurt slightly when the fish nibbled the actual wound, but I have to say they did a better job than the antiseptic wipes and today it looks loads better. Anyway, enough about that, hope I've not put anyone off their tea.

We've finally found a rock bar, first since Bangkok. The usual staples of Iron Maiden. Megadeth and Motorhead, but good fun. We did find the children selling tat, and the mother pointing at her tiny baby and asking us to buy a flower a bit hard to take though. At one point a baby elephant walked past. Nobody batted an eyelid.

From Chiang Mai we went on a day jungle trek. Five hours of fighting our way up and down hill along an alleged path. Man, it was hard work. I ache all over now. It was a great experience though. Absolutely stunning scenery. We stopped enroute and had a swim in a pool by a waterfall. We did the trek with a guide and a nice French couple, all good company. Fantastic day and well worth the mud, aches and pains.

I had planned to do a cookery course here, but none of them have really inspired me. We've had some lovely food in Thailand, and eaten Thai food every day bar about one. Still, I don't think Thai food is ever going to beat say Indian or Mexican for us.

The bus timetable to Chiang Khong looked a little vague, so we've booked a private minibus which will pick us up at our guesthouse. Nearly time to move on again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb