Adventure....and out of shape


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
April 5th 2006
Published: April 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had to pay them for this photoI had to pay them for this photoI had to pay them for this photo

This was at the Golden Triangle, a spot where the borders of Laos, Myanmar, and Thailand all meet.
Ok I made it to Chiang Mai in northern Thailand. Lucky for me I got my passport sent to Bangkok in a day so it was all cool. And of course I had to purchase another camera. Man someday I'll have pictures all over the world with all of the cameras I'm sure I will lose. Chiang Mai is such a relief from the hell I call Bangkok. Nobody seems to really like Bangkok except for the American students who are just on a short holiday. I think they are more interested in the sleazy side of Bangkok though.
So far I've had no time to rest. Today I went to Myanmar (formerly Burma) to get another 30 day Thai visa. It's easy, you take a bus and then pay 5 bucks to cross into Myanmar. They stamp your passport on the way back into Thailand and voila! Another 30 days. I also got to see the 'Golden Triangle', a point where Thailand, Myanmar, and Laos intersect. Not as magnificent as it sounds. The exact ponit could very well be a tree or a rock or something.
Tomorrow I am doing a group trek with a guide. It's 3 days, 2
Buddha BoyBuddha BoyBuddha Boy

This was at a Buddhist temple. I had to shake a stick out of the jar to find out my fortune.
nights in the jungle. Sounds like I could be tiger or anaconda lunch. We hike up a mountain to a village the first day and stay overnight. The next day we ride elephants down and across a river. Wow that's pretty neat. Then we do some white water rafting. In the calm parts we do bamboo rafting....I saw the pictures. It's pretty much like a wooden submarine. You're like half under water the whole time. It should be fun, all our food and possesions (i.e. CAMERAS) are taken care of and stuff so I just gotta make sure I drink enough water because I will be sweatting like Louie Anderson on buffet night.
Also, next week is Thai new year. There is a huge water festival....basically just a huge drunken water fight for three days straight. I plan to use my 'great wealth as a foreigner' and buy the best water gun around. Next week it is supposed to be around 42 degrees outside so I think being soaked the whole time is a good way to go.
There's a place here in Chiang Mai to do some Muay Thai boxing lessons so I have to check that out after
Hill tribeHill tribeHill tribe

Where's the 7-11 ?
the festival. If I like it maybe I'll stay a while and experience the joy of broken ribs.
I will have some great pictures to put on early next week so check back!

Advertisement



7th April 2006

let's get drunk!
Hey SCOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTIIIEEE!!! Shit boy, I didn't even know that you had this whole travel blog thing happening. I didn't know you could type full sentences.... ok ok kidding. But ya, Mandy had to hook me up with all of it... actually, she was the one that told me you left for the other side of the world. That's awesome!!!! I think it's cool that you are doing this now, while you are young and free and have the chance. Anyways... I'm gonna try and read while I can... I'm still here struggling away and sitting on my ass and doing school... but it'll be worth it in the end. I miss you there sir! My kitties say hello. Keep safe, and fucking tape your cameras to your junk or something! ha. <333

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb