Yep I'm back in Asia Again


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 4th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone from Chiang Mai
I arrived in Bangkok last Friday after a very short flight from Dubai...my first on an A380 which was a fabulous ride. And after a very long 2 hour taxi ride in Friday night traffic to my hotel in Sukhumvit and was hit by the noise, light, sights and the smells! Yep I was definitely back in Asia :-)

My hotel was in the Nana district and pretty much anyone who's been to Bangkok will know that this is one of the rather interesting areas in the city.......it was an "interesting" walk out of my hotel and down the road...or soi as they call it to the metro station. But the hotel was fine....and well within my budget :-)

I had 3 nights in the city and pretty much walked my feet off.....in the shopping malls (they give the ones in Dubai a run for their money!), the emerald and reclining buddhas and wandering around the weekend markets....I managed to get completely lost and it took me over an hour to find my way back to the station.

On Monday evening I boarded the overnight train bound for Chiang Mai....and after 10 hours of trying to sleep in my broken seat....they turned all the lights out on the train at 10pm so I didn't have much choice, I arrived in Chiang Mai and found my guest house. I'm staying out of the city centre which at first seemed a bit of a problem but sitting in this internet cafe now amongst the buzzing of cars and music blaring out I'm quite looking forward to getting back to the peace of my very restful room.

I spent Tuesday wandering around familiarising myself with the city which was pretty easy given that the old city centre is a square that has a moat around it on all sides and it's quite small. I visited a couple of temples and found a cafe that serves the best lattes so far on this trip. Today (Wednesday) I went out to a couple of museums in a tuk tuk, went back for more latte and had the best vegetarian massaman curry I think I've ever had!

I'm looking forward to tomorrow as I'm off on a day trip to the Elephant Nature Park......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



4th November 2009

Hey Trace, how r u? Sounds like you are having such a great time. Was so jealous of you when u were with Trude, wish I was there! Love reading your blogs! C y soon. Love Trudi x

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb