A little Fun in Chang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 25th 2006
Published: February 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So after my near death experience on the Speed boat I decided to let loose and celebrate my new found respect for life. I met with some friends from the boat trip as well as some other random travelers at a little bar in Old Town Chang Mai. The bar closed around 1am so Rob (NZ) Matt (UK), James(UK) and myself headed to "SPICY," dance club. I was happy to see a big sign at the door of the club which said "NO LADY BOY." Though that hadn't really crossed my mind, it was reassuring to see that they were trying to protect us from the tragedies that could occur if one of us were to accidentally fall victim to the ever so tempting likes of a lady boy. I say "ever so tempting" cuz if you've actually ever seen a "lady boy" you'll know that some are obviously men turned women but others, have the super extreme make-over that makes it close to impossible to tell if they are truly women. Sometimes one will find himself staring at a women while she walks down the street only to see as she gets closer and closer that it isn't a real woman.

I was a little take back by the aggressiveness of the Thai women. That was my first red alert that there might be something fishy going on. After a few more beers Rob, Matt, James and myself, were dancing up a storm. Every once and a while a "woman" would get a little too close for comfort, brushing her arm against our backs or doing a little bump and grind. That's when we were forced to retreat and find a safe place.

At one point Rob came up to me and motioned towards two girls. He said, "You take the one on the left, I'll take the one on the right."

"Hey Rob," those are both Lady boys man."

"Really? Shit man." This conversation occurred several time over the course of the night.
Finally at around 4:30am I had had about enough and decided to walk home. Stopping on the way for a nice bowl of soup. The perfect remedy for a big night.

The next day we decided to go check out one the Snake Farms. We took a Tuk Tuk to the outskirts of town
Can you tell?Can you tell?Can you tell?

Cuz I can't...but the lady boy rule is better safe than sorry that's for sure.
where we paid $5 to take some photos with some snakes, have the little Thai men freak us out with the snakes, and nearly get bitten by a cobra. We were also treated with a 25 minute snake show, where "Snake man" amazed us with his death defying skills. The guy has been bitten by cobras 5 time in his life. The last time ended in the removal of his right pointer finger. He thought it was really funny to pretend to throw snakes at the three stupid white boys in the front row. Each time we flinched with more and more fear. At one point he told us that the jumping snake was coming out of the box, at that same moment he threw a piece up rope at us into the air, but the rope didn't look like rope, it looked like a massive snake. I don' think I've moved that fast in my life. Everyone had a good laugh at our expense. His finale consisted of him throwing a boa into a pool of water and then him jumping into the pool of water and fighting the snake. It sounds cooler than it actually was, but this supposedly really dangerous. Really? I thought snakes weren't dangerous.

The last couple of days I have been staying at the "Lana House." This hotel was suggested by my friend Rachel, who said that I must stay here, and that Julie the lady boy at the front desk was one of the funniest people she has ever met. I decided to check the place out and instantly fell in love with Julie (solely platonic). She was indeed hysterical, although the rooms weren't exactly luxurious, for $2.50 a night I can deal. I was coerced into signing up for another trek with Julie's company. I mean how could I resist Julie when she says "Come on Baby it'll be fun." Stay tuned for Treking part Du




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Real fear.Real fear.
Real fear.

That's a cobra behind me ready to strike
I was scaredI was scared
I was scared

about 100 hundred snakes in this pit. What was I thinking
a whole lotta snakesa whole lotta snakes
a whole lotta snakes

AHHHHH...still gives me the kreeps
Snake ManSnake Man
Snake Man

that's what his friends call him. He's also missing his right pointer finger if you look closely. DON'T PLAY WITH SNAKES
The Trouble BeginsThe Trouble Begins
The Trouble Begins

Welcome back buckets
Beer on IceBeer on Ice
Beer on Ice

It's hot here even at night.
Bag O DrinkBag O Drink
Bag O Drink

Nothing like bag of juice on a hot day


Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb