Friday May 15, 2009


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 15th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally getting out of Bangkok!
Took the 8:30 am train from Bangkok's Hualampong's Train Staion North to Chiang Mai, an older town and popular tourist destination famous for it's large number of temples and crazy night bazaar markets. The train ride took 12 hours and succesully arrived at 8:20pm in Chaing Mais station.

Note Train station in Bangkok: Not only did I have to pay 5 Baht to use the toilet, there was only 1 western style (not a hole in the floor) toilet that was working and there was a line. It's okay, I wait in line. Finally, it's my turn to use it only to find out there is no toilet paper! Not even dispenser for it, so that means I can't borrow some from the stall next door. Like they would understand what I was asking anyway. This was a big problem for what I needed to use the toilet for! I just called it quits and walked out past the lady who took my money for nothing hoping I would have better luck on the train. And I did, thank goodness! That would be a miserable 12 hour train ride if I couldn't use the toilet....ugh. I am buying a roll of TP ASAP!!!

After arriving at the Chiang Mai we flagged down a Tuk Tuk driver who took us quickly, not necessarily safely, to our hotel. We picked a budget hotel from the guidebook for 600 Baht (US$ 17)/ night. Very cute little place with the necessities. What more can you ask for? We went dining and shopping at the night Bazaar and saw tons of goodies. I will have to go back =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb