Jungle Adventures


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Fish Anyone?Fish Anyone?Fish Anyone?

Live fish at the local market for you to choose

Me again!



Well, I made it up to Chiang Mai without much trouble and found a place to stay at the Libra Guesthouse, which has been my home the last few days. My flight arrived just as the sun set and it was a glorious red ball that slowly slipped behind the mountains. Unfortunately, the colouring is due to the intense air pollution this time of year because of bamboo forest burning. It is even worse than Bangkok, if you can believe. But it hasn't taken away from my trip thus far.

I roamed the small city the evening I arrived and got myself aquainted with the area. The next day I signed up for a Thai cooking course and happily stuffed myself all day! It was interesting to visit the market and learn about the exotic fruits and veges and then use them in our meals. I have a cookbook so I'll give some of the recipes a go at home on those days I yearn for Thailand...That evening I met with Sue and Carolyn and their friends for some (more) food and live entertainment on the river. We finished the night with quite the fire show as
Making Curry PasteMaking Curry PasteMaking Curry Paste

At the cooking school, we ground fresh peppers and herbs to make panang curry paste
two servers made us Irish coffee. Yum!

Saturday I left bright and early for a two day one night trek into the jungle arranged from my guesthouse and it was definately an adventure! 11 of us piled into the back of a truck to one of the National Parks (sorry, the name escapes me now) and our first stop was at a beautiful waterfall. We drove some more and had lunch and then visited a natural hotsprings and it was hot! Then we got to the park and began our hike up and down the hills to a few hill tribe villages and spent the night deep in the jungle. Our guide was entertaining and informative and occationally broke into song. We had a campfire and one of the elephant mahouts serenaded me with broken english love songs...not something on the itinerary!

The following day, we watched the elephants being bathed in the river as we ate breakfast and then enjoyed a ride along the river. Elephants are such beautiful and calm creatures. Along the way, we came across water buffalo, mountain sheep-like animals and stunning scenery. After the elephants we took our turn to navigate the river
Deep Fried Banana and Ice Cream!Deep Fried Banana and Ice Cream!Deep Fried Banana and Ice Cream!

My dessert choice at Baan Thai Cooking School, delish :)
on bamboo rafts made that morning. The rapids were slight so it was mainly an easy ride, though our guide did manage to fall off as his pole got stuck in the rock. His first time this year, he exclaimed!

So its been a few days of excitement and now I'm winding down a bit and taking in the city. I checked out the famous Sunday Night Market last night and browsed the stalls enjoying meat on a stick and mango and sticky rice. The weather here is not as humid as down south but still as hot. There is much tourist activity and the locals are as friendly as ever. I'm feeling a bit nostalgic for home and familar faces for the first time as I prepare for my next transition to India. The adventure shall continue!

Take care until the next time!

Love Laura
xoxoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mork Fa WaterfallMork Fa Waterfall
Mork Fa Waterfall

One of the stops on the trek inside Doi Suthep-Pui National Park
Hilltribe villageHilltribe village
Hilltribe village

One of the villages we passed through during our trek
Elephant RideElephant Ride
Elephant Ride

Leisurely stroll along the river by elephant


9th March 2009

thanks for taking me along on this great adventure! these places seem so exotic and primitive, what a fabulous thing to experience! keep it coming and be safe. love, Denise
9th March 2009

more!
elephants! bamboo rafts! hilltribe villages! this reminds me of the jungle book haha, I actually didnt think you'd be packing in as much as you've done so far! keep it up this is awesome more more more!
9th March 2009

awesome
I'm rather envious of your elephant adventures in particular - one of my ambitions in life is to wash an elephant! Loving your photos, keep living it up! Love Debs
9th March 2009

keeping in touch from NI
this whole trip is fascinating!!! It just gets better and better. Don't get too homesick, we haven't been to India yet! Love the elephants - trekking with these big mammals would be the business. love Auntie Sheelagh and Uncle Dennis
9th March 2009

Hey Me Again
Read your blog 1st thing Monday morning - great way to start the week - I am so looking forward to a Thai dinner at your place. Your adventure is sounding awesome - keep discovering. Glad your missing everyone - we will all be here waiting for your return. Take your time and enjoy! Love - Val
9th March 2009

Jungle Adventures
The food looks just as good as it was at Bamboo Huts! Missing all that Thai food already.
10th March 2009

another page in the book
well, I can see the continuing adventure through your eyes and am loving the way you are telling it. I can hardly wait to taste your Thai recipes.....enjoy!
11th March 2009

Thanks
Hey Sweetie! Thanks for adding me to your blog so that I can follow your adventures after Koh Panghan. I saw some photos of a dinner you had with Carol and Sue in Chang Mai. Alex and I are already planning our return for 2011. Take care of yourself and more importantly have " the time of your life" wherever your journeys take you. Irma
12th March 2009

My little adventurer
The intrepid explorer continues her vigil, how fantastic. I am getting nothing but positive comments about you sweetheart. I am so glad you are taking to a new level the spirit of exploration planted in you by your mum and I. She would be so proud of you. Thinking of you. Love, Dad
12th March 2009

great blog!!!
you look and sound like you're in your element. I'm loving hearing about your experiences, can't wait to hear about India

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb