Ah, India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Neyyar Dam
March 14th 2009
Published: March 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

And I breath a sigh of relief as I take in my surroundings, I've made it to India at long last. My journey from Thailand to India has been an adventure in itself but the transition has been easier than I anticipated.

I enjoyed my last few days in Chiang Mai in Thailand wandering the city and exploring the markets. I took the trek up to the mountain temple Doi Su Thep and am glad I did. It is a relatively small temple compared to some in Bangkok but it is very ornate and filled with Buddha images and is the final resting place of a sacred bone relic. Along the way, I visited the small hilltribe museum and learned that the Karen "long neck" tribe women actually push their ribs down with the brass spirals to give the illusion of a longer neck, a long held custom meant to protect them. Another stop was at the Bhubing Palace, the Winter Residence of the royal family and it was a nice walk around in beautiful gardens and fountains.

My last night I checked out one of the rasta bars and enjoyed some Thai-infused reggae music, definately unique! But it seems my few beers did not mix well with nervous anticipation the following day while travelling. Or else I picked up on a stomach bug that had me with a fever on the flight over from Bangkok to Mumbai. Not exactly the most pleasant way to enter a foreign country! And yes, I didn't mention Mumbai previously because I didn't want you to worry any more than necessary and the transfer went very smoothly.

I stayed one night in Mumbai and right away noticed the heat, garbage, noise, traffic, smog, and people everywhere. I made my way to the train station and was relieved to see my name on the list of confirmed passengers. I've been warned about train travel in India and expected the worst but the trip was fairly uneventful. It was a long 31 hour journey to Trivandrum, travelling along the Southern tip of the West coast of India. Out my window I watched the scenery slowly become more green and lush and coconut trees thrived. I travelled in the 2A teir of the train heirarchy, which is second or third from the top and I'm glad for the comfort of space and relatively clean facilities. Also, I had a lovely Indian couple feed me treats the whole time. I can't say what I ate but they were sweet and delicious!

As I approached my final destination, the clouds above opened up and I experienced a Trivandrum thunder storm. It was quite fantastic with the rain pouring down and the lightning streaking across half the sky. I arrived safely at the Sivananda Ashram, situated in the hills above the city activity inside the Neyyar Dam park. The environment is serene and peaceful and everything is lush and full of life.

Tomorrow we begin the teacher training program, beginning each morning with 5:20 am wake up calls and a set routine throughout the day. It will be challenging and rewarding and I am still unsure of what to expect. Yet I am here.

The intenet facilities here are much more rustic than Thailand so I can't make any promises about how often I will write or be able to add pictures, but I will definately do my best. Thanks again for your messages and comments, they make my heart warm when I read them and think of you.

Love Laura
xoxoxo

Advertisement



14th March 2009

bah! I can't believe you beat me to India. Definitely jealous. I'm stoked to hear more about your experiences there. glad that you are getting to experience so much.
14th March 2009

wow!
I must say I really look forward to reading your next blogs. They are all so wonderful and everything sounds so beautiful! I cant wait to see pictures :) xoxo
16th March 2009

LAURA!
LAURA! so nice to hear that you arrived safe & sound. i've jotted down some of the sights you saw up in Chiang Mai. (thanks) i'll be there in about 5 days. (still in Haad Yuan - but went to Koh Tao for a few days). good luck with the course. look forwad to hearing more about it. best wishes, nat
16th March 2009

yoyoyo
Hey sweets! You made it to India...craziness!!! Soundlike its pretty wild over there in the big cities. When I was reading your blog I was picturing your curled up and hiding in your bed on the train while the couple were feeding you sweets...hee hee...Ladooo...mine! Girl, you are a good writer, I felt like I went through that storm with you...WOW! And to think that next time I will see you you will be a yogurt sensai...ASS RAM! Ahaa , I had to..hee hee. Ahh, all is good over here...just enjoying my last week of freedom before I start my new job...annnnnd, I am getting 89% in English!! Yeah baybee...people come up to me and ask me to correct their work...its like hello, does it look like I'm a teacher? Don't answer that...he ehee. Dani is back, we are going to hang today. Oo, and for my birthday ripper I've decided to have a circus theme party...YAY! I'm going to be the bearded lady! O, Simese twins could be cool too...hmmm. Anywho, take care darlin, you are in our thoughts! We miss you!!! Luv Ang XXXOOXXX
16th March 2009

Blessings
So happy to hear that you made it safely. We wish you 10,000 blessings on your Ashram/ Yoga journey. It will be an experience that will be etched into your being forever. Hope that you will be able to share more of your expereince as you figure out the Internet. Hugs, Irma and Alex
18th March 2009

Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!
Hey Laura. Sounds like you are keeping well and enjoying absolutely every single day. We are still here keeping the place running while you are gone and have had snow, rain, sunshine. Vegas was fun and fast but absolutely nothing like you are doing. Can hardly wait to see your pictures....
21st March 2009

Living vicariously through you
Hi Laura - glad to made it to the Ashram safely, I am trying to imagine how daily life is for you now, I am certain it is far healthier and inspirational that daily life here. Thinking of you and taking great delight in hearing your stories and adventures, living vicariously through you and others who are on the road less travelled. My brother-in-law is in Vietnam for 10 weeks and blogging too. Take great care and savour every moment. Very much look forward to hearing all about the Ashram. Sue
25th March 2009

new job!
woo just lettin u know i got a new job that might actually last! ill tell u all about it later! happy travelling, take care!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb