Thai Cooking Class


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 12th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This was one of the best things I've done in my whole trip. So much fun and yummy, but useful and educational too! When I travelled in India I had an opportunity to do a cooking class, but it was the one day I lay in bed all day because of Delhi Belly. Better luck this time though (so far).

At the start of the morning each member of the group had to pick three dishes from the "menu," lots of yummy Thai stuff. We then all toddled of to the local market to get everything we needed. Thankfully we didn't have to work out exactly what we needed for each, the teachers sorted that out which made things pretty simple. We learnt about 3 different types of ginger, several types of mushroom etc etc. Really cool.

When we got back we had half a plate full of weird and wonderful fruits and snacks. I loved sticky rice and banana wrapped in a leaf. Yum.

We then set about cooking. Lots of chopping first and then into the pan. As soon as a meal was finished we would go and eat it, then start on the next! After the plate of fruit, a cashew and tofu stirfry, 3 spring rolls and a coconut and seafood soup I was pretty bloomin stuffed. Such good food though, if I do say so myself.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone that comes this way!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb