Elephant Camp!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 20th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today the whole group visited an elephant camp where we were able to see an elephant show and ride them through the jungle!! The whole situation was absolutely amazing and I had to keep reminding myself that I was on an elephant in Thailand, what an unforgettable experience! The group that had gone on the trek for the weekend had ridden an elephant before, but it is a really peaceful time and it was great to do it all as a group. The jungle was so beautiful and I felt like I was at home (Washington) because of all of the green. After the elephant ride we went rafting down a river for an hour, the raft was made out of long bamboo poles. The guides make it look so easy to steer the boat, with the long bamboo pole pushing on the bottom of the river. However when I was given a chance to try I dropped the pole in the water and the boat was going down the river sideways most of the time. Needless to say I was really bad! The others on my raft were rather worried. The group then went to an orchid farm and the flower took my breath away. I took pictures for a half an hour and don't think that any one of them will actually be able to do the flowers justice. Each one was so unique and vibrant in color.
The surroundings in Thailand are abosolutely breathtaking, I love to look out on green wilderness instead of a housing development. Now, I am not much of a nature girl (shopping is a regular habit of mine) but being surrounded untouched nature really can touch the soul of a person. It had been a really long time since I had just gone out and enjoyed God's creation. Through my adventures trekking in the wilderness, riding the elephant or going to the orchid farm God is really revealing simple yet profound beauty in nature. I feel as though I have been able to see so many undiscovered treasures that most of the population will never be able to experience and have been touched. Needless to say, I will be taking a longer and deeper look at my surroundings when I return back to Spokane, even if it is at freezing snow, God is in the coldness as well I suppose! Thailand has been wonderful to my spirit and soul, and deeply refreshing and rejuvenating experience!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1mb