When things don't go as planned


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 6th 2005
Published: January 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ja and MikeJa and MikeJa and Mike

Ja and myself
What do you do when things don't go as planned? Make some lemonade, add some Mae Khong (Thai whiskey), and share with friends.

The short version of this story is: I left Koh Samui early, because I met a girl in Chiang Mai that I wanted to spend some more time with, and I really, really dislike all the tourists (farang) here. For reasons that I won't go into, she isn't here. Anyway, I've been welcomed in by one of her friends, Ja. Travel books describe Thais as warm and friendly, but it goes beyond that. She is giving me a place to stay, showing me the sights, and being a really awesome person.

Ja is goofy, caring, and bubbly. Her friend, Ganjana, is a little more reserved, but just as sweet. She's dating a German, Marco, who works in Afghanistan.

Fun story of the day: The water stops working before I can shower. Much anger and cussing ensue, right? No. We go downstairs, haul up jugs of water, and take a shower/bath by dumping water over ourselves with a bucket. Very cold water. But I'm clean and we have fun because the girls can't carry the water,
Ganjana and MarcoGanjana and MarcoGanjana and Marco

Ganjana and Marco
and we have to keep racing down the stairs before the elevator closes. "No problem."

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb