Thailand craziness!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thailand!!! After the worst bus journey EVER IN MY LIFE, which meant sitting for 14 hours squashed next to a Laos guy, who was practically sleeping on my shoulder, and everytime the bus turned a corner or went over a bump, which was about every 5 seconds, we'd slide across the seat and any attempt to sleep would be shattered into little pieces. And then there were the fireflies that joined us at midnight, attracted by the bus's lights, thinking there was a party or something - and were then disappointed when the lights went out, and started flying randomly round the bus, ending up in peoples bags and pockets, I got one flying into my eye - it wasnt the best. Anyway as I said we eventually reached Thailand, and jumped in a plush minibus on the other side of the border/river, to reach Chiang Mai. I'd be lying to say I've been busy every waking moment here, but the first night I went to the most incredible market ive ever seen, the Sunday night market, with a million different souveigneirs all wanting me to buy them. Then yesterday I learnt to cook some thai food, namely spring rolls, thai green curry and sweet and sour vegetables - cant say im the worlds best cook, but these dishes are so easy you can make them with your eyes closed! Guess i have no excuse not to cook anymore...
Then last night I found myself at a Thai boxing match - intriguingly, the boxing wasnt the best entertainment, except when they put 4 blindfolded boxers in the ring, - but the ladyboy cabaret show afterwards, which was definitely a highlight, very bizarre!
Today though, never thought I would, but I did a bungee jump, 50 metres, incredible!! Loved it, but got so scared jumping off, then on about the third bounce thought i'd love to do it again (sadly money issues restrained me). Today's been great weather too, wouldnt like to do that in the rain, and first day in ages it hasn't rained (yet). So I guess I should go make the most of it!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb