White water rafting adventures


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Riding the ElephantRiding the ElephantRiding the Elephant

tourist style - not Indiana Jones style. too bad, but what can you do?
Chiang Mai
Staying at Taepae Garden Guesthouse. This place is ok, but I probably wouldn't recommend it. The people living behind the guesthouse have about 5 big dogs that bark constantly. 400 baht for 2 bed room with bathroom and hot water.

It seems lately that my favorite hobby is endangering my life. We took a day trip out of the city to do all the touristy things like riding an elephant, jungle trekking and visiting the hill tribes. This little excursion also included some white water rafting. As it turns out, no one in our group had ever been white water rafting and before we went our guide gave us a 30 second spiel on what to do and we were off. Of course, the first set of rapids we hit, we get stuck up against a rock and half capsize. I'm in the underwater part of the boat and before I know it I'm no longer in the boat, and I'm being swept downstream by the current. I went over two sets of rocks before I hit a plateau and managed to swim to the edge of the river. Am I ever glad I took swimming lessons as a kid! Once I was out of the current I was able to get my footing and stood behind a rock until the rest of the group could free themselves and rescue me. and I didn't even lose my paddle! I'm lucky its the dry season and the river was really low.
The next day we took it pretty easy and just toured the temples. There is no shortage of temples here thats for sure. After touring about all day we went for supper at a little restaraunt called Noi's Kitchen. The food was pretty good, but a few hours later I woke up with severe food poisoning. I don't remember the last time I was so sick. The next day we were supposed to take a thai cooking course, but I could barely even move. Jacq still went and had a good time but I felt so weak I stayed in bed the entire day.
Other than that, things have been pretty low key. We went out to the silk village and payed way to much for the silk that mom wanted and spent a bunch of money on useless junk at the different markets. Today is our last day in Chiang Mai. We head back to Bangkok tonight, and we're off to Singapore tomorrow for more adventure!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb